Joan Baez Vanguard Sessions: Baez Sings Dylan

Vanguard Sessions: Baez Sings Dylan
Get email alerts for Joan Baez
18 ratings
Price: $16.18
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 6 copies left
sku:  JGY7
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 9, 1998
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Vanguard Records


  • 1.Love Minus Zero / No Limit
  • 2.It's All over Now, Baby Blue
  • 3.You Ain't Going Nowhere
  • 4.It Ain't Me Babe
  • 5.I Pity the Poor Immigrant
  • 6.Tears of Rage
  • 7.Love Is Just a Four-Letter Word
  • 8.I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine
  • 9.Farewell, Angelina
  • 10.Dear Landlord
  • 11.One Too Many Mornings
  • 12.I Shall Be Released
  • 13.Boots of Spanish Leather
  • 14.Daddy You've Been on My Mind
  • 15.Restless Farewell
  • 16.Don't Think Twice, It's All Right
  • 17.Walls of Red Wing
  • 18.Drifter's Escape
  • 19.Walkin' Down the Line
  • 20.North Country Blues

Product Description:

Personnel: Joan Baez (vocals, guitar); Bruce Langhorne (electric guitar); Geno Foreman (guitar); David Soyer (cello); Ralph Rinzler (mandolin); Richard Romoff, Russ Stavkus (bass); Grady Martin, Ken Buttrey, Norbert Putnam, Junior Huskey, Hargus Robbins, Pete Drake, Hal Rugg, Pete Wade, Tommy Jackson, Buddy Spicher, Harold Bradley, Jerry Reed, Jerry Kennedy, Steve Stills, Bill Purcell, David Briggs, Fred Carter, John Gimble.
Producer: Maynard Ferguson.
Compilation producer: Tom Vickers.
Engineers include: Selby Cofeen.
Includes liner notes by Charles J. Fuss.
Digitally remastered by Jeff Zaraya.
Personnel: Joan Baez (vocals, guitar); John Baez (vocals, guitar); Bruce Langhorne (electric guitar); Ralph Rinzler (mandolin); David Soyer (cello).
Liner Note Authors: Joan Baez; Langston Hughes.
Illustrator: John Byrne Cooke.
Photographers: Daniel Kramer ; David Gahr; Diana Davies; David Gohr.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Roy M. "Junior" Husky; Fred Carter; David Briggs ; Tommy Jackson; Bill Pursell.
Culling 15 tracks from her 1968 release of Any Day Now and adding five tracks taken from her releases of the early '60s, Vanguard Sessions: Baez Sings Dylan is a wonderful example of Joan Baez's ability to transcend the work of other songwriters. Though it could be said that the genius of Dylan's songcraft can occasionally be obscured by the understated starkness of his presentation, Baez's use of slightly countrified arrangements to compliment her powerful vocals succeeds in recasting these classics in a slightly prettier package. Baez takes few liberties, so most tracks don't count as surprises, though a bluesy a cappella rendition of "Tears of Rage" and a funky, soulful "Dear Landlord" nearly qualify as such. More than anything, Baez's renditions make the listener realize just how incredibly nuanced Dylan's delivery can be. Though standards like "You Ain't Goin' Nowhere," "It Ain't Me Babe," and "I Shall Be Released" are covered, just as many tracks are of a lesser-known variety, such as "Walkin' Down the Line," "Love Is Just a Four-Letter Word," and "Walls of Red Wing." Of course, bringing out the genius in Dylan's work isn't exactly akin to pulling teeth, but the timeless quality of Baez's thoughtful renditions more than does the work justice. ~ Matt Fink

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 64,477
  • UPC: 015707951227
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)