COVID-19: We have resumed very limited warehouse and shipping operations. Please see here for details.

Christopher Hogwood Fitzwilliam Virginal Book

Get email alerts for Christopher Hogwood
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  6K9W3
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: July 23, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Eloquence Australia

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Giles Farnaby Fantasia
  • 2.The Flatt Pavan
  • 3.Anon. Can Shee
  • 4.Alman ? the Irishe Dumpe ? Watkins Ale
  • 5.William Byrd a Gigg
  • 6.William Inglott the Leaves Bee Greene
  • 7.Peter Philips Amarilli Di Julio Romano
  • 8.Galiarda Passamezzo
  • 9.Martin Peerson Alman ? the Primerose ? the Fall of the Leafe
  • 10.Farnaby Tower Hill ? a Masque ? a Toye
  • 11.Pavana
  • 12.Galliardo
  • 13.Mundy Robin
  • 14.Anon. Nowel?S Galliard
  • 15.Farnaby Giles Farnaby?S Dreame ? His Rest ? Farnabye?S Conceit ? His Humour

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Byrd John Come Kisse Me Now
  • 2.The Queenes Alman
  • 3.John Bull in Nomine
  • 4.Fantasia
  • 5.Philips Pavana and Galiarda ?Pagget?
  • 6.Byrd Pavana and Galiarda ?Delight?
  • 7.La Volta ? Alman ? Wolseys Wilde ? Callino Casturame ? la Volta
  • 8.Tisdale Pavana ?Clement Cotton?
  • 9.Farnaby Loth to Depart

Product Description:

The Fitzwilliam Virginal Book is one of the most important collections of keyboard music of the 16th century. Recorded to accompany the Folio Societys publication Music at Court (also written by Christopher Hogwood), this collection was imaginatively distributed to the Societys members, together with suitable vintages to accompany the literary titles. To suit the music by Farnaby, Byrd, Philips, Peerson and Bull, together with anonymous compositions the recordings were made on different keyboard instruments: virginal, organ, harpsichord and spinet. The recording received critical acclaim was a Gramophone Award nominee in 1983. This marks its first international release on CD. The booklet includes the original LP sleeve notes as well as a new introduction for the reissue penned by Hogwood himself

Product Info

  • UPC: 028948055975
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To contact customer service, email us at
Our Call Center is temporarily closed due to COVID-19 restrictions.