Dancing the Blues
Get email alerts for Taj Mahal
15 ratings
PRESIDENTS' DAY SALE: $5.97 Limited Time Only
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
sku:  SSP 49041
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: September 14, 1993
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Down Beat - 2/94, p.59
3 Stars - Good - "...[DANCING THE BLUES] finds him rediscovering childhood favorites...


  • 1.Blues Ain't Nothin'
  • 2.Hard Way
  • 3.Strut
  • 4.Going to the River
  • 5.Mockingbird
  • 6.Blue Light Boogie
  • 7.The Hoochi Coochi Coo
  • 8.That's How Strong My Love Is
  • 9.Down Home Girl
  • 10.Stranger in My Own Home Town
  • 11.Sitting on Top of the World
  • 12.I'm Ready
  • 13.I Can't Help Myself (Sugar Pie, Honey Bunch)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Taj Mahal (vocals, guitar, steel guitar, harmonica); Etaa James (vocals); Johnny Lee Schell (guitar, vocals); John Porter (guitar); Ian McLagan (piano); Mick Weaver (organ); Bill Payne (piano, keyboards); Chuck Domanico (acoustic bass); Bob Glaub (bass); Richie Hayward, Tony Braunagel (drums); Michito Sanchez (congas, percussion); Joe McGrath (percussion); Sir Harry Bowens (background vocals).
The Texacali Horns: Joe Sublett (tenor & soprano saxophones); Marty Grebb (alto, baritone & tenor saxophones, background vocals); Darrell Leonard (trumpet, trombonium).
Recorded at Studio 55, Los Angeles, California; Devonshire Audio/Video Studio, North Hollywood, California; Red Zone Studio, Burbank, California.
Includes liner notes by David Ritz.
Personnel: Taj Mahal (vocals, guitar, steel guitar, harmonica, piano, organ); Etta James (vocals); Johnny Lee Schell (guitar, background vocals); John Porter (guitar); Joe Sublett (soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Marty Grebb (alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone, background vocals); Darrell Leonard (trumpet, trombone); The Texacali Horns (horns); Ian McLagan (piano, organ); Bill Payne (piano); Mick Weaver (organ); Chuck Domanico (upright bass); Tony Braunagel (drums, percussion); Richie Hayward (drums); Michito S nchez (congas, percussion); Joe McGrath (percussion); Sir Harry Bowens (background vocals).
Liner Note Author: Taj Mahal.
Recording information: Devonshire Audio; Red Zone Studios, Burbank, CA; Studio 55, Los Angeles, CA; Video Studio, N. Hollywood, CA.
Illustrator: William H. Johnson .
Photographer: Robin Visotsky.
Unknown Contributor Role: Darrell Leonard.
Taj Mahal has always been a more inclusive, eclectic musician than even some admirers understand; his work was never simply or totally blues, even though that strain was at the center and seldom far from anything he performed either. That's the case with this newest collection, a 12-song set that includes splendid covers of Muddy Waters and Howlin' Wolf tunes, but also equally respectful, striking renditions of soul standards such as "Mockingbird," with special guest Etta James, and "That's How Strong My Love Is." There are also strong Mahal originals like "Blues Ain't Nothin'" and "Strut," with Mahal singing and playing in his wry, delicate, yet forceful way. ~ Ron Wynn
Presidents' Day Weekend Sales Event

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 17,041
  • UPC: 886974904120
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)