Jeezy The Recession

Rolling Stone: 3 stars out of 5 -- "Over a darker version of his usual strenuous, cinematic Dirty South production, Jeezy shows off his gruff, slo-mo flow..."
Get email alerts for Jeezy
98 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
item number:  6AQF5
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: August 25, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Def Jam

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.71
3 stars out of 5 -- "Over a darker version of his usual strenuous, cinematic Dirty South production, Jeezy shows off his gruff, slo-mo flow..."
Billboard (p.41) - "Jeezy delivers some great turns of phrase on songs like 'Wordplay'..."
XXL (Magazine) (p.99) - "Jeezy again proves no one's realer when it comest to stacking undeniable deliveries over a hot beat..."


  • 1.Recession, The (Intro)
  • 2.Welcome Back
  • 3.By the Way
  • 4.Crazy World
  • 5.What They Want
  • 6.Amazin'
  • 7.Hustlaz Ambition
  • 8.Who Dat
  • 9.Don't You Know
  • 10.Circulate
  • 11.Word Play
  • 12.Vacation
  • 13.Everything
  • 14.Takin' It There
  • 15.Don't Do It
  • 16.Put On
  • 17.Get Allot
  • 18.My President

Product Description:

Personnel: Laura Edwards, Kanye West, Trina Broussard (vocals); Peter Drew, Lora Cain, Frank Charlton, Chris Davies (spoken vocals); Miykal Snoody (keyboards); Larry McRary (drums).
Audio Mixer: Leslie Brathwaite.
Recording information: Dirty South Studios, Atlanta, GA; SoundTrap Studios, Atlanta, GA; Tape Op, Sacramento, CA.
Creator: Ken Lewis .
Photographer: Jonathan Mannion.
On album number three, ATL icon Young Jeezy spreads his wings-- flirting with radio-friendly R&B-influenced tracks and soul-tinged nostalgia-- while maintaining the same intense feel with his trademark slow-rap delivery and crack-peddling subject matter. THE RECESSION largely relies on the same stable of producers who've been with Jeezy since LET'S GET IT-- Don Cannon, Midnight Black, Shawty Redd, Drumma Boy, and J.U.S.T.I.C.E. League. Thus the overall production sound is consistent with his first two solo albums--cinematic and brooding, built on seething synthesizers and frantic drum kits--while a handful of R&B hooks push THE RECESSION closer to commercial appeal. For the most part though, Jeezy keeps it gangsta as he reworks 2Pac's "Ambitions as a Ridah" on "Hustlaz Ambition," sneers at his enemies on "By the Way," and revisits his crackspot origins on "Crazy World." The biggest departure is undoubtedly the album's closer, "My President"--that sees Jeezy, alongside Nas, pondering the possibilities of a black president.

Product Info

  • UPC: 602517760264
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)