Champion Jack Dupree The Complete Blue Horizon Sessions (2-CD)

The Complete Blue Horizon Sessions (2-CD)
Get email alerts for Champion Jack Dupree
7 ratings
Price: $14.38
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  EJD5
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: February 6, 2007
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Blue Horizon

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.See My Milk Cow
  • 2.Mr. Dupree Blues
  • 3.Yellow Pocahontas - (Extended Version)
  • 4.Gutbucket Blues / Ugly Woman
  • 5.Street Walking Woman
  • 6.Income Tax
  • 7.Roll On
  • 8.I've Been Mistreated - (Extended Version)
  • 9.A Racehorse Called Mae
  • 10.My Home's in Hell
  • 11.How Am I Doing It
  • 12.I Haven't Done No One No Harm
  • 13.Street Walking Woman - (alternate take)
  • 14.Big Fat Woman
  • 15.Whiskey, Look What You Done to Me
  • 16.Going Down to the Blue Horizon
  • 17.Juke Box Jump
  • 18.Black Cat Shuffle

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.I Want to Be a Hippy
  • 2.Grandma (You're a Bit Too Slow)
  • 3.Puff Puff
  • 4.Blues Before Sunshine
  • 5.I'll Try
  • 6.Going Back to Louisiana
  • 7.Ain't That a Shame
  • 8.Stumbling Block
  • 9.Old and Grey
  • 10.Who Threw the Whiskey in the Well
  • 11.Postman Blues
  • 12.Lawdy, Lawdy
  • 13.Kansas City
  • 14.Ba' la Fouche
  • 15.Rub a Little Boogie
  • 16.Black and White Blues
  • 17.Drinkin' Wine Spo-Dee-O-Dee
  • 18.The Shiek of Araby
  • 19.You Make Me Feel Alright
  • 20.Do the Boogie Woogie

Product Description:

Includes bonus tracks.
Personnel: Champion Jack Dupree (drum); Mick Taylor , Paul Kossoff, Stan Webb (guitar); Chris Anderson (acoustic guitar); Reg Cole, Peter Oxer, Barry Wilde, Richard Studt (violin); Christopher Andrew Turner, Duster Bennett (harmonica); Les Wigfield, Alan Skidmore (tenor saxophone); Jim Chester (baritone saxophone); Terry Noonan (trumpet); Bud Parks (flugelhorn); Gary Thain, Alex Dmochowski, Stuart Brooks (bass guitar); Keef Hartley, Simon Kirke, Aynsley Dunbar (drum); Mike Vernon (percussion).
After Champion Jack Dupree took up residence in Europe in the 1960s, he recorded for a number of European labels, including Blue Horizon Records, where he cut three full albums and several singles. All of that material is included on this two-disc set, which features the ivory-tickling bluesman in both solo and full-band contexts. Despite his advanced years at the time, Dupree plays with all of the vigor and guts that characterized his best early recordings--with traces of the New Orleans boogie-woogie style he began with and the Chicago style he later developed. Moreover, Dupree's charm and charisma, showcased especially in the live tracks here, are always engaging.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 71,353
  • UPC: 184719000725
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)