King Crimson ProjeKct Three: Live in Austin, TX March 25, 1999

Get email alerts for King Crimson
Price: $15.90
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD
item number:  72AKW
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 7, 2020
  • Originally Released: 2020
  • Label: Dgm


  • 1.Masque 3
  • 2.Masque 11
  • 3.X-chayn-jiZ
  • 4.Hindu Fizz
  • 5.Heavy ConstruKction
  • 6.Introductory Soundscape
  • 7.Masque 8
  • 8.Light ConstruKction
  • 9.Masque 2
  • 10.CCCCCCs
  • 11.ProjeKction
  • 12.The Deception of the Thrush

Product Description:

Personnel: Robert Fripp, Trey Gunn (guitar).
Recording information: Live, Antones, Austin, TX (03/25/1999).
Editor: Alex R. Mundy.
Photographer: Bill Munyon.
After the dissolution of the six-man double-trio incarnation of King Crimson in 1997, the individual members re-formed in a variety of smaller fractals or "ProjeKcts." Released in 2004, the 27th installment in the Discipline Global Mobile Collectors' Club series includes the final performance of ProjeKct Three on March 25, 1999, at Antones in Austin, TX. The personnel incorporates the talents of Robert Fripp (guitar), Trey Gunn (touch guitar, talker), and Pat Mastelotto (electronic drums, buttons, percussion). Together they unleash a dozen instrumentals with an ear toward collective improvisation in the hopes of summoning the spirit of the next manifestation of the greater Crim. Indeed, their mission is most certainly accomplished as their excursions provide a definite precursor to 2000s The ConstruKction of Light. The edgy and rhythmically complex opener, "Masque 3," is contrasted by the probing tones and inquisitive "Masque 11." While the sounds are entirely spontaneous, ProjeKct Three: Live in Austin, TX March 25, 1999 contains a few selections that were concurrently "works in progress" being developed within the context of each of the ProjeKcts. The barreling "Heavy ConstruKction" as well as the soulful syncopated "The Deception of the Thrush" are presented as impulsive and ultimately beautiful creations. Speaking of beauty, Fripp's "Introductory Soundscape" is equally cerebral in its moody unadorned tranquillity. This is quite the opposite of the hard and driving "ProjeKctions," a number possessing more than just a passing resemblance to "Into the Frying Pan," which would commence the aforementioned ConstruKction of Light once Adrian Belew (vocals, guitar) joined forces to complete the sixth touring version of King Crimson at the dawn of the new millennium. Although this single-disc volume is recommended for seasoned enthusiasts, those unfamiliar with the trial by fire and intrepid nature of the ProjeKcts would be best served by a sampler such as 1999's The Deception of the Thrush -- A Beginners' Guide to ProjeKcts rather than this highly enjoyable yet bold endeavor. ~ Lindsay Planer

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 633367746924
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)