COVID-19: We are currently operating in a limited manner. Due to social-distancing practices and increased order volume, please expect longer than usual wait times & shipping delays.

Those Were Our Songs: Music of World War II (2-CD)
by Various Artists

57 ratings
List Price: $20.98
You Save: $1.08 (5% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Only 5 copies left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  6AQ9J
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: November 6, 2001
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Capitol

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.I'll Be With You in Apple Blossom Time - The Andrews Sisters
  • 2.Green Eyes - Helen O'Connell
  • 3.Who Wouldn't Love You? - Kay Kyser
  • 4.Jersey Bounce - Benny Goodman & His Orchestra
  • 5.Cow Cow Boogie - Ella Mae Morse / Freddie Slack
  • 6.Sleepy Lagoon, A - Harry James & His Orchestra
  • 7.Strip Polka - Johnny Mercer
  • 8.I Had the Craziest Dream - Helen Forrest
  • 9.Jukebox Saturday Night - Tex Beneke
  • 10.Praise the Lord and Pass the Ammunition - Harry Babbitt / Kay Kyser
  • 11.Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy - The Andrews Sisters
  • 12.I've Heard That Song Before - Harry James & His Orchestra
  • 13.Shoo Shoo Baby - Ella Mae Morse
  • 14.Amor - Andy Russell
  • 15.Straighten up and Fly Right - Nat King Cole
  • 16.Long Ago (And Far Away) - Jo Stafford
  • 17.G.I. Jive - Johnny Mercer
  • 18.I'll Walk Alone - Martha Tilton
  • 19.It Had to Be You - Betty Hutton
  • 20.Trolley Song, The - The Pied Pipers

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Rum and Coca-Cola - The Andrews Sisters
  • 2.Candy - Jo Stafford / Johnny Mercer / The Pied Pipers
  • 3.Sentimental Journey - Les Brown
  • 4.Dream - The Pied Pipers
  • 5.Chattanooga Choo Choo - Ray Anthony
  • 6.Chloe - Spike Jones
  • 7.On the Atchison, Topeka and the Santa Fe - Johnny Mercer
  • 8.Tampico - Stan Kenton & His Orchestra
  • 9.Waiting for the Train to Come In - Peggy Lee
  • 10.It's Been a Long, Long Time - Harry James & His Orchestra / Helen Forrest
  • 11.Doctor, Lawyer, Indian Chief - Betty Hutton
  • 12.Jingle, Jangle, Jingle - Kay Kyser
  • 13.Hut-Sut Song, The - Freddy Martin & His Orchestra
  • 14.Mister Five by Five - Ella Mae Morse / Freddie Slack
  • 15.It's Only a Paper Moon - Nat King Cole
  • 16.Do Nothin' 'Til You Hear from Me - Red Dorris / Stan Kenton & His Orchestra
  • 17.I Love You - Jo Stafford
  • 18.Mairzy Doats - The Pied Pipers
  • 19.It Might as Well Be Spring - Dick Haymes
  • 20.Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate the Positive - Johnny Mercer / The Pied Pipers

Product Description:

Compilation producers: Pete Welding, Cheryl Pawelski.
Includes liner notes by Will Friedwald.
Digitally remastered by Mark Chalecki (Capitol Mastering).
Personnel: Harry Babbitt, Helen Forrest, Red Dorris (vocals).
Audio Remasterer: Mark Chalecki.
Liner Note Author: Will Friedwald.
World War II and big-band pop-era compilations are released almost as regularly as Christmas albums, and the glut has caused more harm than good; it seems any good ones are quickly swallowed up by the racks full of short, ill-advised, uninformative collections. Though any single label could never do justice to the war years, with a little clever licensing the Capitol compilation Those Were Our Songs: Music of World War II transcends its slightly simpy title to deliver 40 great tracks of traditional pop. Most of the standards of the day are included: "Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy" by the Andrews Sisters, "Praise the Lord and Pass the Ammunition" by Kay Kyser, "G.I. Jive" by Johnny Mercer, "Long Ago (And Far Away)" by Jo Stafford, and "Sentimental Journey" by Les Brown (with Doris Day), though there's no Glenn Miller, except for his appearance on "Jukebox Saturday Night" by Tex Beneke. More than any other label, Capitol captured the can-do attitude of America during the early '40s, with a spate of classic songs poised halfway between jump blues and novelty big band, songs like Nat King Cole's "Straighten up and Fly Right," Ella Mae Morse's "Cow-Cow Boogie," Freddy Martin's "The Hut-Sut Song," Benny Goodman's "Jersey Bounce," and the Andrews Sisters' "Rum and Coca-Cola." Add the great liner notes of Will Friedwald and Those Were Our Songs: Music of World War II stands as one of the best -- and easily the best-sounding, courtesy of astonishing 24-bit remastering -- compilations of its era: just this side of definitive, but packed full of great music summoning the sound and feel of a nation at war. ~ John Bush

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 10,250
  • UPC: 724353577421
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)