George Russell New York, N.Y.

Get email alerts for George Russell
SALE: $14.99
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD
item number:  ZSUR 10760
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 1, 2010
  • Originally Released: 1959
  • Label: Ais


  • 1.Manhattan 10:33
  • 2.Big City Blues 11:41
  • 3.Manhatta - Rico 10:10
  • 4.East Side Medley [8:00] a) Autumn in New York b) How About You
  • 5.A Helluva Town [5:00]
  • 6.All About Rosie 10:45*
  • 7.All About Rosie (alt. take) [5:17]*

Product Description:

Personnel: George Russell (leader, arranger, chromatic drums); Jon Hendricks (spoken vocals); Hal McKusick, Phil Woods (alto saxophone, flute, clarinet); John Coltrane, Benny Golson, Al Cohn (tenor saxophone); Gene Allen, Sol Schlinger (baritone saxophone); Art Farmer, Doc Severinsen, Ernie Royal, Joe Wilder, Joe Ferrante (trumpet); Bob Brookmeyer, Frank Rehak, Tom Mitchell, Jimmy Cleveland (trombone); Bill Evans (piano); Barry Galbraith (guitar); Milt Hinton, George Duvivier (bass); Charlie Persip, Max Roach, Don Lamond (drums); Al Epstein (bongos).
Recorded between September 12, 1958 and March 25, 1959. Includes liner notes by Burt Koral, George Russell and Stewart Levine.
Digitally remastered using 20-bit technology by Bernie Grundman (Bernie Grundman Mastering, Hollywood, California).
George Russell's NEW YORK, NEW YORK is a remarkable celebration of the city that is the capital of jazz. The music is drenched in the energy and spirit of the city and is a reflection of the great artists that created the post-bop era. Recorded at nearly the same time as Miles Davis' KIND OF BLUE and John Coltrane's GIANT STEPS, Russell's compositions and arrangements paint an impressionistic picture that captures the essence of the new modal style that reached its peak in the late '50s.
With an orchestra comprised of Coltrane, Bill Evans, Max Roach, Art Farmer, Milt Hinton and Benny Golson, among others, the music issues forth in lush pastel swaths with a myriad of ever-changing textures. Jon Hendricks' narration for each section is the perfect extra touch that brings it all together into a cohesive whole. This is truly a masterpiece of jazz as arranged for the large band format, and a testament to the power of the music as well as the city that nurtured it into maturity.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 121,523
  • UPC: 8436028691647
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)