Marion Meadows Dressed to Chill

Get email alerts for Marion Meadows
23 ratings
Price: $16.60
List Price: $57.99
You Save: $41.39 (71% Off)
Special Order Item: Usually ships in 7-14 days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD
item number:  JERK
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 30, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Heads Up


  • 1.Dressed to Chill
  • 2.Remember Me
  • 3.Dance With My Daughter
  • 4.Miss Know It All
  • 5.Bounce
  • 6.I Believe I Can Fly
  • 7.Coco Flow
  • 8.Just My Style
  • 9.Scent of a Woman
  • 10.Steppers ... Let's Do This
  • 11.1000 Dreams
  • 12.To Love Her

Product Description:

Personnel: Marion Meadows (flute, bass clarinet, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Will Brock (vocals); Freddie Fox (guitar, electric guitar, flugelhorn); Chuck Loeb, Randy Bowland (guitar); Thano Sahnas (acoustic guitar); Michael Broening (piano, keyboards, programming); Lori Williams , Raymond Reeder (background vocals).
Recording information: Big Dog Studios, Waterbury, CT; Chess Studio, Phoenix, AZ; La Cosino Studio, Hilton Head Island, SC; The B-Hive, Phoenix, AZ.
Soprano saxist Marion Meadows has been a crown prince in the smooth jazz court for so long, it's easy to wonder if he remembers his days woodshedding with Joe Henderson and Norman Connors' Starship Orchestra. He's been wildly successful, and his time with the Heads Up label has hardly been wasted; his rep is deep and wide, and his records move. Unlike a better selling counterpart on the same instrument, Meadows has a keen sense of rhythm and pitch, and his tonal control is top-notch. Given the tunes here, interchangeable deep relaxing grooves that borrow on everything from trip-hop to jazz, and house to Wes Montgomery's early experiments -- check "Remember Me," for evidence of the latter -- it's easy to forget the individuality Meadows possesses not only on soprano, but also on tenor and flute (he employs all three on "Coco Flow,") as well as alto on the opening title track. He duets with himself on soprano and tenor on "Bounce" and "Remember Me." Meadows' key collaborator here is composer, programmer, and keyboard whiz Mike Broening. He's the guy who comes up with the skeletal, wispy rhythm loops -- leaving the need for a drummer non-existent. There are three tracks with vocals here, "Miss Know It All," an urban soul ballad with Will Brock doing his best Terence Trent D'Arby, and "1000 Dreams" with Caji Da Bahia, an overblown sunstorm of loaded overdubbing. The cover of R. Kelly's "I Believe I Can Fly" is an understated ballad with some beautiful phrasing by Meadows, even when the all too familiar chorus kicks in. When the backing vocalists -- Vanessa and Lori Williams and Raymond Reeder -- enter, they are so utterly masked by production technique, it's hard to tell they are real singers. But it works, especially in the bridge when Meadows actually plays some blues lines. Meadows is a seriously gifted if unchallenged musician. He could use a new writing partner, but that doesn't mean that Dressed to Chill won't satisfy fans; it most certainly will. ~ Thom Jurek

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 12,039
  • UPC: 053361310622
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)