Bud Shank European Tour 58 [Import]

European Tour 58 [Import]
Get email alerts for Bud Shank
Sale: $17.09
WINTER SALE: $13.35 Limited Time Only
List Price: $18.99
You Save: $5.64 (30% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  JEEC
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: July 10, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Lonehill Jazz Spain


  • 1.Intro [Live]
  • 2.Scrapple from the Apple [Live]
  • 3.Intro [Live]
  • 4.Stella by Starlight [Live]
  • 5.Intro [Live]
  • 6.Way You Look Tonight [Live]
  • 7.Intro [Live]
  • 8.'Round Midnight [Live] - Bob Cooper, Bud Shank, Cootie Williams
  • 9.Intro [Live]
  • 10.Bag's Groove [Live]
  • 11.Scrapple from the Apple
  • 12.Way You Look Tonight
  • 13.Walkin'
  • 14.Tickle Toe
  • 15.Do Nothin' Til You Hear from Me [Cut off at the Ending]
  • 16.Scrapple from the Apple
  • 17.'Round Midnight - Bob Cooper, Bud Shank, Cootie Williams
  • 18.Way You Look Tonight
  • 19.All the Things You Are
  • 20.Nearness of You / Bag's Groove
  • 21.All the Things You Are [Incomplete Take] - Bob Cooper, Bud Shank
  • 22.Crazy Rhythm
  • 23.Lover Man
  • 24.Lamp Is Low
  • 25.These Foolish Things - Bob Cooper, Bud Shank
  • 26.Do Nothin' Til You Hear from Me - Bob Cooper, Bud Shank
  • 27.Polka Dots and Moonbeams - Bob Cooper, Bud Shank
  • 28.All of You - Bob Cooper, Bud Shank
  • 29.All of You

Product Description:

Personnel: Bud Shank (flute, alto saxophone); Bob Cooper (oboe, tenor saxophone); Shorty Rogers (trumpet); Frank Rosolino (trombone); Claude Williamson, Russ Freeman Trio , Russ Freeman (piano); Victor Feldman (vibraphone); Chuck Flores , Jimmy Pratt, Stan Levey (drums).
Liner Note Author: Arthur Kramer.
Recording information: Basin Street East, New York, NY (09/15/1956-03/??/1958); Hamburg, Germany (09/15/1956-03/??/1958); K.B. Hallen, Coppenhage, Denmark (09/15/1956-03/??/1958); Los Angeles, CA (09/15/1956-03/??/1958); Malmo, Sweden (09/15/1956-03/??/1958).
In 1957 and 1958 altoist Bud Shank and tenor saxophonist Bob Cooper went on joint tours of Europe. This two-CD set mostly consists of four radio broadcasts of Shank (doubling on flute) and Cooper (also on oboe) co-leading a quintet also featuring pianist Claude Williamson, bassist Don Prell and drummer Jimmy Pratt. Although the recording quality varies from broadcast to broadcast, the results are consistently listenable and both of the saxophonists are heard in their early prime. The interplay between the two throughout the cool-toned bop music is a constant joy. Also on this two-fer is a partial selection with the Lighthouse All-Stars, four numbers from a Shank live date with pianist Russ Freeman and three selections by Shank's quartet in 1956 from a telecast of the Stars of Jazz. Nearly all of the music was previously unreleased. This set is easily recommended to lovers of '50s West Coast jazz. ~ Scott Yanow
Year-End Clearance Sale

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 8436019582473
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)