Get email alerts for Cal Tjader
5 ratings
PRESIDENTS' DAY SALE: $9.99 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.99 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
sku:  YH56
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 11, 1996
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: OJC


  • 1.Tambu (Tombo In 7/4)
  • 2.Tereza My Love
  • 3.Black Narcissus
  • 4.Sad Eyes
  • 5.My Cherie Amour
  • 6.San Francisco River
  • 7.Samba De Oneida
  • 8.Don't Lend Your Guitar To Anyone :: Violao Nao Se Empresta A Ninguem

Product Description:

Personnel: Cal Tjader (vibraphone, timbales); Charlie Byrd (acoustic & electric guitars); Mike Wolff (acoustic & electric pianos); Joe Byrd (electric bass); John Heard (bass); Mike Stephans, Dick Berk (drums, percussion); Michael Smithe (congas); Mayuto Correa (percussion).
Recorded at Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California from September 18-20, 1973.
Personnel: Cal Tjader (vibraphone, timbales); Charlie Byrd (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Michael Wolff (piano, electric piano); Joe Byrd (electric bass); Dick Berk, Mike Stephans (drums, percussion); Mayuto Correa (percussion).
Audio Remasterer: Phil DeLancie.
Audio Remixer: Jim Stern.
Recording information: Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, CA (09/18/1973-09/20/1973); Fanttasy Studios, Berkley (09/18/1973-09/20/1973).
Photographer: Tony Lane.
Unknown Contributor Role: Phil DeLancie.
Still trying to stay in tune with the Seventies, Cal Tjader joins forces with another refugee from another time, guitarist Charlie Byrd, for an album of contemporary Brazilian-flavored jazz. The alliance is forged mostly on Byrd's terms, with bossa nova, samba and percussive displays from Brazil's interior dominating the grooves. This time, after proving very adaptable to previous experiments, Tjader seems to be out in the cold in these settings, and he lays out a lot more often than usual on this album. Byrd rides along in his gentle, prickly-toned manner on acoustic and electric guitars, and the rhythm section shifts personnel and instruments from track to track. Yet oddly enough, this is still a musically rich feast. Electric pianist Mike Wolff's "Samba de Oneida" is a marvelously propulsive samba, and "Tereza My Love," one of Antonio Carlos Jobim's most attractive sleepers, is given a lovely rendition. The title track, written by Airto Moreira, is given an authentic, rambunctious Airto-style treatment, very much up-to-date, but Cal doesn't sound totally comfortable with the rhythm on vibes, spending most of his time on timbales. Even though this isn't prime Tjader, the overall quality of the music makes it a winner. ~ Richard S. Ginell

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 56,488
  • UPC: 025218689120
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)