Cal Tjader Descarga

Get email alerts for Cal Tjader
PRESIDENTS' DAY SALE: $10.56 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.42 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
sku:  YH2R
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 30, 1995
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Fantasy

Entertainment Reviews:

Jazziz - 12/95, p.90
"...The sessions opened up to incendiary jams..."


  • 1.Agua Dulce (Cool-Ade)
  • 2.Curacao
  • 3.Somewhere In The Night
  • 4.Gimme Shelter
  • 5.Ran Kan Kan
  • 6.Descarga Cuban
  • 7.Invitation
  • 8.Now
  • 9.Morning
  • 10.Leyte
  • 11.Mother And Child
  • 12.Cubano Chant
  • 13.Soul Sauce III
  • 14.Philly Mambo
  • 15.Davito
  • 16.Manteca

Product Description:

Personnel: Cal Tjader, Luis Gasca, Pat Houston, Bill Perkins, Mel Martin, Al Zulaica, Ron McClure, Phil Escovedo, Dick Berk, John Heard, Pete Escovedo, Michael Smithe, Coke Escovedo.
Recorded in 1972.
Personnel: Cal Tjader (vibraphone, percussion); Pete Escovedo (vocals, congas, bongos, guiro, percussion); Coke Escovedo (vocals, timbales); Mel Martin (flute, saxophone); Bill Perkins (saxophone); Frank Snow , Luis Gasca (trumpet); Al Zulaica (electric piano, Fender Rhodes piano); Dick Berk, Lee Charlton (drums).
Audio Remixer: Jim Stern.
Recording information: Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, CA (1971-1972); Funky Quarters, San Diego, CA (1971-1972).
Arranger: Al Zulaica.
Descarga is a merger of two albums recorded near the beginning of the '70s -- the fascinating studio session Aqua Dulce and the self-explanatory Live at the Funky Quarters. Having not yet lost his yen for adventure from the Verve days, Tjader neatly integrates Al Zulaica's Rhodes electric piano, electronic effects, and occasionally horns and voices into a bedrock Latin format, and the combination works even at its most outlandish. Two of the reasons why Aqua Dulce stays on track are the solid Latin percussion team of Pete and Coke Escovedo and Michael Smithe, and that Tjader's rippling, to-the-point, easily adaptable vibraphone manner hadn't changed a whit over the years. The title track, "Agua Dulce (Cool Ade)," is a lot of fun, with its electronic bubbling and straight Latin grooves, and Cal even tackles the Rolling Stones' "Gimme Shelter," adding pink noise and spacy obligatos from an early Moog synthesizer. Much of the live portion of the LP -- recorded at a San Diego nightclub in 1972 -- has a sound tied even more closely to its time, with Zulaica's electric piano, John Heard's bass, and Dick Berk's drums often creating textures that evoke the jazz-rock era. Smithe's congas merely add punctuation, except when Tjader himself joins in on percussion, thus creating some Latin action. Nevertheless, this live gig is quite enjoyable and energetic, sprinkled with new material and updated Tjader standards like "Cubano Chant," "Manteca," and "Soul Sauce III (Guarachi Guaro)." ~ Richard S. Ginell

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 70,427
  • UPC: 025218243728
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)