George Cables Goin' Home [Bonus Tracks]

Goin' Home [Bonus Tracks]
Get email alerts for George Cables
WINTER SALE: $9.99 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.99 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
sku:  YJGD
Brand New

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released: July 1, 1991
  • Originally Released: 1991
  • Label: OJC


  • 1.Goin' Home
  • 2.Samba Mom Mom
  • 3.In a Mellow Tone
  • 4.Don't Let the Sun Catch You Crying
  • 5.Isn't She Lovely
  • 6.Billie's Bounce
  • 7.Lover Man
  • 8.The Sweetest Sounds
  • 9.Don't Let the Sun Catch You Crying - (alternate take, alternate)
  • 10.You Go to My Head - (alternate take, alternate)

Product Description:

Personnel: Art Pepper (alto saxophone); George Cables (piano).
Recorded at Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California on May 11 & 12, 1982. Includes liner notes by Laurie Pepper.
Originally released on Galaxy (5143).
Personnel: Art Pepper (clarinet, alto saxophone); George Cables (piano).
Recording information: 05/11/1982-05/12/1982.
Art Pepper's final recording sessions were comprised of duets with pianist George Cables. Pepper, who splits his time almost evenly here between alto and clarinet, is in surprisingly strong form considering that he only had a month left to live. He is heard at his best on "Goin' Home," "Don't Let the Sun Catch You Crying," "Isn't She Lovely," and "Lover Man," really pouring out his emotions into the ballads. Two alternate takes were added to the CD reissue, although for the complete picture, one has to acquire Art Pepper's 16-CD Galaxy box set, which contains plenty of otherwise unissued performances. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Art's final recording Music Lover: from Greenville, NY US -- August, 2, 2009

This is a strong set of duos featuring Art Pepper on alto sax and clarinet. The empathy which joins these two musicians reminds me of Stan Getz and Kenny Barron on Stan's last recordings.
Buy this CD.
Also check out "Landscape", a live set from 1979 also featuring George Cables.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 69,873
  • UPC: 025218667920
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)