Phineas Newborn, Jr. Please Send Me Someone to Love

Please Send Me Someone to Love
Get email alerts for Phineas Newborn, Jr.
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.42 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
14 copies available
sku:  GH5A
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: August 19, 1997
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: OJC


  • 1.Please Send Me Someone To Love
  • 2.Rough Ridin'
  • 3.Come Sunday
  • 4.Brentwood Blues
  • 5.He's A Real Gone Guy
  • 6.Black Coffee
  • 7.Little Niles
  • 8.Stay On It

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Phineas Newborn Jr. (piano); Ray Brown (bass); Elvin Jones (drums).
Recorded in February 1969.
On two days in 1969, pianist Phineas Newborn recorded enough material for two albums (the other is titled Harlem Blues), which is fortunate because these were his only recordings of the 1965-73 period. Unfortunately, neither set has been reissued on CD yet. Newborn, who is joined by bassist Ray Brown and drummer Elvin Jones, performs a blues and bop set which includes such tunes as "Rough Ridin'," "He's a Real Gone Guy," "Little Niles" and his own "Brentwood Blues." The emphasis generally is on vintage tunes, and Newborn shows throughout that he was still very much in his musical prime. ~ Scott Yanow

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 025218694728
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)