Gerry Mulligan Dragonfly

Get email alerts for Gerry Mulligan
4 ratings
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.42 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 3 copies left
sku:  YK4A
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: October 24, 1995
  • Originally Released: 1995
  • Label: Telarc

Entertainment Reviews:

JazzTimes - 5/96, p.68
"...outstanding....This is a beautifully-paced CD full of fine writing and playing. Mulligan couldn't have left us a finer memorial."
Musician - 2/96, p.93
"...he arrives at thoughtful tunes that challenge his cohorts and beg for further elaboration..."
Village Voice (1/16/96) - Ranked #16 in the Village Voice's Best Jazz Discs of '95 - "...From mournful ecstasy to breezy cool, this essay in sustained lyricism is executed with a finesse that heightens every measure....the selections in which Mulligan, Warren Vach‚, and John Scofield confide in each other almost make you feel like you're evesdroping..."


  • 1.Dragonfly
  • 2.Brother Blues
  • 3.Anthem
  • 4.Backstage
  • 5.Little Glory
  • 6.Art Of Trumpet
  • 7.Listening To Astor
  • 8.Ninth Life
  • 9.Underneath A Pale Blue Moonlight
  • 10.Oh, Mr. Sauter? Yes, Mr. Finegan

Product Description:

Gerry Mulligan Quartet: Gerry Mulligan (baritone saxophone); Ted Rosenthal, Bill Mays (piano); Dean Johnson (bass); Ron Vincent (drums).
Additional personnel: Grover Washington, Jr. (tenor saxophone); Warren Vache (trumpet); Dave Grusin (piano); John Scofield (guitar).
Personnel: Gerry Mulligan (baritone saxophone); John Scofield (guitar); Grover Washington, Jr. (soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Ryan Kisor (trumpet); Warren Vach‚ (cornet); Dave Grusin, Ted Rosenthal (piano); Dave Samuels (vibraphone); Ron Vincent (drums).
Recording information: 03/12/1995-06/27/1995.
On what was probably Gerry Mulligan's last studio album (recorded less than a year before his death), the great baritonist is heard still in prime form. He contributed all ten compositions and the emphasis is on lyricism and slower tempoes; only three songs are taken above a medium pace. There are fine cameos by Grover Washington Jr. on tenor and soprano (during the first two numbers), cornetist Warren Vache and trumpeter Ryan Kisor. In addition, guitarist John Scofield and vibraphonist Dave Samuels (who both played with Jeru in the 1970's) are on many of the tracks and pianist Dave Grusin is on some although there is no identification as to which songs. A five-piece brass section was overdubbed on a later occasion. But even with the guests, the focus is generally on Gerry Mulligan and his longtime quartet. The music is thoughtful and tasteful although it is doubtful if any of the tunes will ever catch on as standards. This is a tasteful if not quite essential final effort by Mulligan, who seems to have ended his very important career quite peacefully. ~ Scott Yanow

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 122,293
  • UPC: 089408337727
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)