COVID-19: Because of processes designed to ensure the safety of our employees, you may experience a delay in the shipping of your order. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We are grateful for your business and hope you are staying safe and healthy!

Charles Wright & the Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band Hot Heat and Sweet Groove

Mojo (Publisher): 3 stars out of 5 - "[J]uxtaposing earthy R&B with whimsical pseudo-psychedelic covers....An interesting exhumation for funk aficionados."
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  YJVF
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 17, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Water

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - p.115
3 stars out of 5 - "[J]uxtaposing earthy R&B with whimsical pseudo-psychedelic covers....An interesting exhumation for funk aficionados."


  • 1.Caesar's Palace
  • 2.Yellow Submarine
  • 3.Brown Sugar
  • 4.Soul Concerto
  • 5.Fried Okra
  • 6.Spreadin' Honey
  • 7.A Little Class & A Little Trash
  • 8.The 103rd St. Theme
  • 9.The Girl from Ipanema
  • 10.Bring It on Home to Me
  • 11.Whole Hog, Or None at All
  • 12.Watts Happening

Product Description:

Charles Wright & the Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band: Charles Wright; Mel Brown (guitar); James Carmichael (piano).
Personnel: Charles Wright (vocals, guitar).
Recording information: Nashville West, Hollywood, CA.
Hot Heat and Sweat Groove is the debut album by the funky band led by the charismatic Charles Wright. The Wright brood moved to Los Angeles when Charles Wright was 12. In Watts, Wright befriended doo woppers and balladeers like Jesse Belvin, the Hollywood Flames, the Youngsters, and others who lived in the area. Propped by stars like Bill Cosby and publicized by two and a half years of sold-out crowds at the Haunted House (a local club), along with an unexpected local hit, the band was able to secure a contract with Warner Bros. Records. Nothing major came from this set that displayed a choppy rhythmic approach similar to Dyke & the Blazers. But this surprisingly hard-to-find album produced by James Carmichael, who went on to great success with the Commodores, features some thick funk: "Fried Okra," "Brown Sugar," and reworkings of "Yellow Submarine," "The Girl From Ipanema," and "Bring It on Home to Me." While not the most cohesive set, you can't knock the hot SoCal energy exhibited by Wright and his crew of young hopefuls, including future Earth, Wind & Fire member Al McKay, along with James Gadson, Melvin Dunlap, Big John Rayford, Bill Cannon, Gabriel Flemings, and Joe Banks. The LP's most popular track, "Spreading Honey," charted at number 44 R&B and number 73 pop in 1967. The Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band didn't even record the song. Wright cut the track with Bobby Womack, Leon Haywood, James Carmichael, and others as the theme song for DJ Magnificent Montague's radio show. But it smoked so much that Warner Bros. signed them on the dotted line and credited the single to the Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band; this album followed, and the rest is history. ~ Andrew Hamilton

Product Info

  • UPC: 646315714722
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)