Coleman Hawkins Body & Soul (4-CD)

Get email alerts for Coleman Hawkins
SALE: $9.98
List Price: $36.99
You Save: $27.01 (73% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
item number:  ZGER 233338
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: September 23, 2011
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Imports

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.It's No Sin
  • 2.And So To Sleep Again
  • 3.Spellbound
  • 4.Lost In a Fog
  • 5.Carioca
  • 6.Midnight Sun
  • 7.If I Could Be With You (One Hour Tonight)
  • 8.I Can't Get Started
  • 9.Ruby
  • 10.Where is Your Heart?
  • 11.My Blue Heaven
  • 12.Honeysuckle Rose
  • 13.Organ Grdiner's Swing
  • 14.Perdido
  • 15.Sweethearts On Parade
  • 16.The Man I Love
  • 17.Foolin' Around
  • 18.Time On My Hands
  • 19.Ornithology
  • 20.Body and Soul

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Blues For Yolande
  • 2.It Never Entered My Mind
  • 3.Rosita
  • 4.You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To
  • 5.Prisoner of Love
  • 6.Tangerine
  • 7.Shine On Harvest Moon
  • 8.Running Wild
  • 9.I'll Never Be the Same
  • 10.When Your Lover Has Gone
  • 11.Blue Room
  • 12.The Breeze and I
  • 13.What's New
  • 14.My Own Blues

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Meet Doctor Foo
  • 2.Body & Soul
  • 3.Dedication
  • 4.Serenade To a Sleeping Beauty
  • 5.My Ideal
  • 6.Lover Come Back To Me
  • 7.Crazy Rhythm
  • 8.Get Happy
  • 9.The Man I Love
  • 10.Bean At the Met
  • 11.Rainbow Mist
  • 12.Recollections
  • 13.Indian Summer
  • 14.Phantomesque
  • 15.April In Paris
  • 16.How Strange
  • 17.Half Step Down Please
  • 18.Angel Face
  • 19.Jumpin' For Jane
  • 20.Picasso

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Stompin' At the Savoy
  • 2.If I Had You
  • 3.Out of Nowhere
  • 4.Get Happy
  • 5.Ain't Misbehavin'
  • 6.Cheek To Cheek
  • 7.Lullaby of Birdland
  • 8.Just You, Just Me
  • 9.Blue Love

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Coleman Hawkins (tenor saxophone); Thelma Carpenter (vocals); Jackie Fields, Bud Johnson (alto saxophone); Allen Eager (tenor saxophone); Charlie Shavers, Fats Navarro, Jimmy Nottingham (trumpet); Jimmy Buffington (French horn); J.C. Higginbotham, J.J. Johnson, Urbie Green (trombone); Sid Jekowsky (flute, clarinet); Hal McKusick, Zoot Sims, Al Cohn, Al Young, Romeo Penque (reeds); Marty Wilson (vibraphone); Gene Rodgers, Jimmy Jones, Hank Jones (piano); Lawrence Lucie, Mary Osborne, Chuck Wayne, Barry Galbraith (guitar); Oscar Smith, Johnny Williams, Al McKibbon, Milt Hinton, Jack Lesberg, Arnold Fishkin (bass); Art Herbert, Walter Johnson, Shelly Manne, Max Roach, Osie Johnson (drums).
Recorded at RCA Studios, New York, New York between 1939 and 1956. Includes liner notes by Dan Morgenstern.
Digitally remastered from original metal parts and master tapes by Ed Begley and Bernardo Cosachov.
Personnel includes: Coleman Hawkins (tenor saxophone, clarinet); Don Redman (vocals, baritone saxophone, clarinet); Benny Carter (alto saxophone, trumpet, clarinet); Chu Berry (tenor saxophone); Henry "Red" Allen, Roy Eldridge, Cootie Williams (trumpet); Rex Stewart (cornet); Glenn Miller, J.C. Higginbotham (trombone); Pee Wee Russell (clarinet); Fats Waller, Fletcher Henderson, Stephane Grappelli, Art Tatum (piano); Eddie Condon (banjo); Oscar Pettiford (bass); Gene Krupa, Sid Catlett (drums).
Compilation producers: Tony Watts, Colin Brown.
Recorded between November 6, 1929 and December 4, 1943. Includes liner notes by Tony Watts.
Recording information: Hollywood, CA (10/11/1939-10/13/1958); New York (10/11/1939-10/13/1958); Hollywood, CA (10/16/1957); New York (10/16/1957).
Named after Hawkins' 1939 proto-bebop classic, this legendary collection proves why Hawkins is considered by many the finest tenor ever. Picking up his career after a stint alongside Louis Armstrong in Fletcher Henderson's big band and five years in prewar Europe, BODY AND SOUL focuses on Hawkins' essential small group sides of the '40s. Here the former swing enthusiast helped create bebop with the help of future jazz icons Benny Carter, J.J. Johnson, Zoot Sims and Max Roach. From "Meet Doctor Foo" to "Angel Face," Hawkins transforms standards like "My Blue Heaven" into something startlingly new and creates originals like "Bouncing With Bean" that would go on to influenced an entire generation of players. The mid-'50s orchestral sessions that end the album show Hawkins' eagerness to bring bebop's structures into new arenas, and the lovely, string-laden remake of the title track indicates that the experiment was a success.

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 24,785
  • UPC: 885150333389
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)