The Complete 1960 Jazz Cellar Session

Get email alerts for Ben Webster
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
item number:  6K6DG
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 11, 2014
  • Originally Released: 2014
  • Label: Ais


  • 1.Ben's Web
  • 2.Side Door (Don't Kid Yourself)
  • 3.Blues'll Blow Your Fuse
  • 4.I Can't Believe That You're In Love With Me
  • 5.Dual Highway
  • 6.Big Ears
  • 7.Shorty Gull
  • 8.Ifida
  • 9.Big Smack
  • 10.I'd Be There
  • 11.Just Another Day
  • 12.Lollalagin Now
  • 13.Exactly Like You
  • 14.I'm Beginning To See the Light
  • 15.Val's Lament
  • 16.Tipsy Joe
  • 17.Waiting On the Champagne

Product Description:

Digitally remastered edition. Contains this superb November 1960 session recorded by the Ben Webster-Johnny Hodges sextet in studio conditions at the Jazz Cellar, in San Francisco (without an audience). It is presented here in it's complete form on a single CD for the first time ever. The two great saxophonists were the only horn players heard at the session. They were backed by a rhythm section of piano, guitar, bass and drums. These recordings are exceptional in that no other date exists in their collaborative discography featuring them as the only horns. A complete (and very rare) octet session featuring Webster and Hodges has been added as a bonus.

Product Info

  • UPC: 8436028698042
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)