Public Image Ltd. Plastic Box (4-CD)

Record Collector (magazine): 4 stars out of 5 -- "[With] B-side rarities such as the cavernous proto-house dub of 'Fodderstompf,' which graced the B-side of 'Death Disco.'"
Get email alerts for Public Image Ltd.
21 ratings
MASSIVE CD SALE: $29.80 Limited Time Only
List Price: $31.99
You Save: $2.19 (7% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  GSYC
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: December 14, 2009
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Emd Int'l

Entertainment Reviews:

The Wire - 3/99, p.60
"...Rehearing the inspired METAL BOX material included wonder whether PIL's brutal reinvention of reggae got embedded in the consciousness of the nascent Massive Attack..."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.96
4 stars out of 5 -- "[With] B-side rarities such as the cavernous proto-house dub of 'Fodderstompf,' which graced the B-side of 'Death Disco.'"


  • 1.Public Image
  • 2.The Cowboy Song
  • 3.Theme
  • 4.Religion I
  • 5.Religion Ii
  • 6.Annalisa
  • 7.Low Life
  • 8.Attack
  • 9.Poptones (Bbc John Peel Session)
  • 10.Careering (Bbc John Peel Session)
  • 11.Chant (Bbc John Peel Session)
  • 12.Death Disco (12"' Remix)
  • 13.1 / 2 Mix Megamix
  • 14.No Birds Do Sing
  • 15.Memories
  • 16.Another
  • 17.Albatross
  • 18.Socialist
  • 19.The Suit
  • 20.Bad Baby
  • 21.Radio 4
  • 22.Pied Piper
  • 23.Flowers of Romance
  • 24.Four Enclosed Walls
  • 25.Phenagen
  • 26.Track 8
  • 27.Hymie's Him
  • 28.Under The House
  • 29.Banging The Door
  • 30.Go Back
  • 31.Francis Massacre
  • 32.Home Is Where The Heart Is
  • 33.This Is Not A Love Song (12"' Remix)
  • 34.Blue Water
  • 35.Bad Life (Single Version)
  • 36.Question Mark
  • 37.Solitaite
  • 38.Tie Me To The Length of That
  • 39.Where Are You?
  • 40.The Pardon
  • 41.1981
  • 42.The Order of Death
  • 43.F. F. F.
  • 44.Rise
  • 45.Fishing
  • 46.Round
  • 47.Home
  • 48.Ease
  • 49.Seattle
  • 50.Angry
  • 51.The Body (Us 12"' Mix)
  • 52.Selfish Rubbish
  • 53.Disappointed
  • 54.Happy
  • 55.Warrior (12'" Extended Version)
  • 56.Usls 1
  • 57.Don't Ask Me
  • 58.Criminal
  • 59.Luck's Up
  • 60.God
  • 61.Cruel (Bbc Mark Goodier Session)
  • 62.Acid Drops (Bbc Mark Goodier Session)
  • 63.Love Hope (Bbc Mark Goodier Session)
  • 64.Think Tank (Bbc Mark Goodier Session)

Product Description:

PLASTIC BOX contains album tracks, 12 inch versions, B-sides and previously unreleased radio sessions.
Includes liner notes by John Lydon.
Anyone looking for a rounded overview of Johnny Lydon's post-Sex Pistols career will find this the only place to begin. Thrown fortuitously together as P.I.L. with fellow punk fallouts Keith Levene and Jah Wobble, Lydon swapped his trademark vitriolic rasp for a harrowing wail. The trio, plus assorted drummers, delivered two groundbreaking albums in FIRST EDITION and METAL BOX, with Levene's critical guitar squall underpinned by Wobble's dub-influenced basslines. Even as that group inevitably fell apart, FLOWERS OF ROMANCE, a percussion-heavy experiment, proved an engaging set. A succession of session players came and went, either side of an association with Bill Laswell for ALBUM. P.I.L.'s later output then slipped into a somewhat repetitive, though highly competent cycle of techno-rock. PLASTIC BOX also includes a clutch of rarities and radio session recordings from Lydon's early days, and it's for those that fans will find this collection worth revisiting.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 88,157
  • UPC: 5099960754721
  • Shipping Weight: 0.43/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)