Nitty Gritty Dirt Band Will the Circle Be Unbroken, Volume 3 (2-CD)

Mojo (Publisher): "...[With] so many good moments..."
Will the Circle Be Unbroken, Volume 3 (2-CD)
Get email alerts for Nitty Gritty Dirt Band
35 ratings
Price: $19
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $0.98 (5% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
item number:  YW7R
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: October 1, 2002
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Capitol

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - 1/03, p.93
"...[With] so many good moments..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Take Me in Your Lifeboat - (featuring Del McCoury / Rob McCoury / Ronnie McCoury)
  • 2.Milk Cow Blues - (featuring Doc Watson / Richard Watson / Josh Graves)
  • 3.I Find Jesus
  • 4.Hold Whatcha Got - (featuring Jimmy Martin)
  • 5.Mama's Opry - (featuring Iris DeMent)
  • 6.Diamonds in the Rough - (featuring June Carter Cash / Earl Scruggs)
  • 7.Lonesome River - (featuring Sam Bush)
  • 8.Some Dark Holler - (featuring Dwight Yoakam)
  • 9.Lowlands, The - (featuring Jaime Hanna / Jonathan McEuen)
  • 10.Love, Please Come Home - (featuring Del McCoury / Ronnie McCoury)
  • 11.Goodnight Irene - (featuring Willie Nelson / Tom Petty)
  • 12.I Know What It Means to Be Lonesome - (featuring The Nashville Bluegrass Band)
  • 13.I'll Be Faithful to You - (featuring Emmylou Harris)
  • 14.Tears in the Holston River - (featuring Johnny Cash)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Fishin' Blues - (featuring Taj Mahal / Vassar Clements)
  • 2.Save It, Save It - (featuring Jimmy Martin)
  • 3.Wheels - (featuring Dwight Yoakam)
  • 4.Roll in My Sweet Baby's Arms - (featuring Willie Nelson)
  • 5.Oh Cumberland - (featuring Matraca Berg / Emmylou Harris)
  • 6.I Am a Pilgrim - (featuring Doc Watson / Richard Watson)
  • 7.Sallie Ann - (TRUE instrumental, featuring Earl Scruggs)
  • 8.Catfish John - (featuring Alison Krauss)
  • 9.Roll the Stone Away
  • 10.All Prayed Up - (featuring Vince Gill)
  • 11.Return to Dismal Swamp, Pt. 2 - (TRUE instrumental, featuring Jerry Douglas / Glen Duncan / Ronnie McCoury / Tony Rice)
  • 12.There Is a Time - (featuring Rodney Dillard / Ricky Skaggs)
  • 13.Will the Circle Be Unbroken - (featuring Taj Mahal / Alison Krauss / Doc Watson)
  • 14.Farther Along - (TRUE instrumental, featuring Randy Scruggs)

Product Description:

Disc 2 is an Enhanced CD, which contains both regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.
Nitty Gritty Dirt Band: Jimmy Ibbotson (vocals, guitar, bouzouki, mandolin, snare, drum box, percussion box); Jeff Hanna (vocals, guitar, National guitar); Bob Carpenter (vocals, accordion); John McEuen (banjo, mandolin); Jimmie Fadden (harmonica).
Additional personnel includes: Del McCoury, Doc Watson, Jimmy Martin, Iris Dement, Dwight Yoakam, Jaime Hanna, Willie Nelson, Tom Petty, Emmylou Harris, Johnny Cash, Jimmy Martin, Matraca Berg, Vince Gill (vocals, guitar); Taj Mahal (vocals, Archtop guitar); Sam Bush, Ricky Scaggs (vocals, mandolin); June Carter Cash (vocals, autoharp); Alison Krauss (vocals, fiddle); Richard Watson, Earl Scruggs, Randy Scruggs; Tony Rice (guitar); Josh Graves, Jerry Douglas (dobro); Vassar Clements (fiddle); Dan Dugmore (dobro); Ray Martin (mandolin, background vocals); Ronnie McCoury (mandolin); Glen Duncan (fiddle); Mickey Raphael (harmonica); Byron House, David Jackson, Glen Worf (upright bass); The Nashville Bluegrass Band.
Producers: Randy Scruggs, Nitty Gritty Dirt Band.
Recorded at Scruggs Sound Studio, Nashville, Tennessee. Includes liner notes by Jack Hurst.
"Roll The Stone Away" was nominated for the 2003 Grammy Award for Best Country Performance By A Duo Or Group With Vocal. "Will The Circle Be Unbroken (Glory, Glory)" was nominated for the 2003 Grammy Award for Best Country Collaboration With Vocals.
Personnel: Jeff Hanna (vocals, guitar, National guitar, mandolin, accordion, washboard); Jimmy Ibbotson (vocals, guitar, bouzouki, mandolin, snare drum, percussion, drum programming); Del McCoury, Doc Watson, Dwight Yoakam, Emmylou Harris, Iris DeMent, Jaime Hanna, Jimmy Martin , Johnny Cash, Jonathan McEuen, Matraca Berg, Rodney Dillard, Tom Petty, Vince Gill, Willie Nelson, Pat Enright (vocals, guitar); Taj Mahal (vocals, acoustic guitar); Ricky Skaggs, Sam Bush (vocals, mandolin); Alison Krauss (vocals, fiddle); Bob Carpenter (vocals, accordion); June Carter Cash (vocals); Earl Scruggs, Randy Scruggs (guitar, banjo); Richard Watson, Tony Rice (guitar); Dan Dugmore, Jerry Douglas , Josh Graves (dobro); John McEuen (banjo, mandolin); Alan O'Bryant, Rob McCoury (banjo); Mike Compton, Ray Martin, Ronnie McCoury (mandolin); Glen Duncan , Stuart Duncan, Vassar Clements (fiddle); Jimmie Fadden (harmonica, snare drum, drum programming); Mickey Raphael (harmonica); Glenn Worf, Kevin Grant, Barry Bales, Byron House, Dennis Crouch, David P. Jackson (upright bass).
Audio Mixer: Ron Reynolds.
Recording information: SCruggs Sound Studio, Nashville, TN.
Photographers: Katherine Bomboy; Mike McNamara.
Unknown Contributor Role: Jimmy Ibbotson.
Arranger: Randy Scruggs.
In 1972, California folk-rockers the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band recorded what today might be regarded as the precursor to the jillion-selling pop-bluegrass crossover phenomenon that was the 2000 soundtrack to O BROTHER WHERE ART THOU. They gathered together with some of America's finest (and oldest) bluegrass, folk, and country musicians for a generational summit/musical history lesson that reached both the country and pop audiences. In 1989, the Dirt band released a well-regarded, similarly constructed second volume, and on the 30th anniversary of Volume One, they have an entirely successful third go at it.
The fare on offer is stictly old-timey, as one would expect/hope; even if only a handful of the tunes are strictly traditional, most go back to the glory days of American roots music. Seasoned bluegrass veterans like Doc Watson and Jimmy Martin are on hand to mix up with the Dirt Band as well as more contemporary (but equally tradition-minded) country artists such as Dwight Yoakam, Alison Krauss, and Jerry Douglas. As with the previous volumes, the spontaneous, rough-and-ready production gives an appropriately authentic, back-porch feel to the impressive and generous (28 songs) compendium of great American roots music on offer here.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 12,232
  • UPC: 724354017704
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)