Dead Kennedys Bedtime For Democracy

Bedtime For Democracy
Get email alerts for Dead Kennedys
43 ratings
SALE: $17.95 + $1 additional shipping
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $2.03 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 4 copies left
Format:  Vinyl LP
sku:  MFT 429031
on most orders of $75+
New Condition

Vinyl LP Details

  • Released: November 18, 2011
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Manifesto Records, Inc.

Description by

Dead Kennedys' final studio album. Remastered from original tapes!

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 6/01, p.127
3 stars out of 5 - "...On release, these black comedies were considered alarmist..."
NME (Magazine) - 3/17/01, p.31
6 out of 10 - "...Internal friction had comprismised the DK's 'espirit de corps'....Songs like 'Anarchy For Sale' and 'Chickens*** Conformist' chart the comodification of punk values..."


  • 1.Take This Job and Shove It
  • 2.Hop With the Jet Set
  • 3.Dear Abby
  • 4.Rambozo the Clown
  • 5.Fleshdunce
  • 6.Great Wall
  • 7.Shrink
  • 8.Triumph of the Swill
  • 9.Macho Insecurity
  • 10.I Spy
  • 11.Cesspools in Eden
  • 12.One - Way Ticket to Pluto
  • 13.Do the Slag
  • 14.Commercial
  • 15.Gone With My Wind
  • 16.Anarchy for Sale
  • 17.Chickenshit Conformist
  • 18.Where Do Ya Draw the Line
  • 19.Potshot Heard 'Round the World
  • 20.D. M. S. O.
  • 21.Lie Detector

Product Description:

The Dead Kennedys: Jello Biafra, Klaus Flouride, D.H. Peligro, East Bay Ray.
Additional personnel includes: Tim Jones (synthesizer); Jayed Scotti (timbales); Cal Andrew, Blaze (background vocals).
Recorded at City Sound and Hyde Street Studios, San Francisco, California.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Although nobody knew it at the time, this was to be the Dead Kennedys' final official studio album; exhausted by the legal battle brought on by their previous album FRANKENCHRIST, they threw in the towel shortly after recording this one. Fortunately, they go out here in a blaze of angry glory.
BEDTIME FOR DEMOCRACY is arguably their most explicitly political album. It's full of furious, supersonic punk assaults on Reagan-era topics, including the Rambo movies ("Rambozo the Clown"), media brainwashing ("Fleshdunce"), fashionable politics ("Anarchy for Sale"), and even punk rock itself ("Chickenshit Conformist"). There's also a hilarious version--certainly the fastest ever recorded--of David Alan Coe's anthem of blue collar dissatisfaction, "Take This Job and Shove It."
Vinyl LPs

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Product Groupings:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 60,434
  • UPC: 767004290317
  • Shipping Weight: 0.50/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)