The Mamas & the Papas People Like Us

People Like Us
Get email alerts for The Mamas & the Papas
24 ratings
Price: $16.90
Available: Usually ships in 5-7 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  33EF4

CD Details

  • Released: April 17, 2001
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Universal Mod Afw


  • 1.People Like Us
  • 2.Pacific Coast Highway
  • 3.Snowqueen Of Texas
  • 4.Shooting Star
  • 5.Step Out
  • 6.Lady Genevieve
  • 7.No Dough
  • 8.European Blueboy
  • 9.Pearl
  • 10.I Wanna Be A Star
  • 11.Grasshopper
  • 12.Blueberries For Breakfast

Product Description:

You can say the album's title two ways, and unfortunately, by the time of this 1971 reunion album, one of them was sadly incorrect. When the Mamas And The Papas broke up in 1968, it was due to intra-band romantic entanglements and increasing drug use, but the fact that their patented brand of folk-rock-based close harmony sunshine pop was rapidly going out of fashion certainly didn't help.
Cass Elliott was the only one who had any solo success, but somehow John and Michelle Phillips and Denny Doherty were able to convince her to come back for this album. It was a commercial flop, but fans of the group have retroactively discovered it to be an interesting meld of sunshine pop and Laurel Canyon-style country rock. The title track, "Snow Queen of Texas" and the lilting "Pacific Coast Highway" are particular highlights.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 82,921
  • UPC: 076743134425
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)