The Leaves Leaves Are Happening!

Leaves Are Happening!
Get email alerts for The Leaves
7 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
item number:  H9XE
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: April 1, 2000
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Sundazed Music Inc.

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - 6/00, p.118
"...One of the first of the LA new breed...[with] their harmony vocals, fuzzbox riffing, inventive bass lines and maniacal drumming....this CD illustrates their mainstays of a Hollywood scene which now seems impossibly blessed."


  • 1.Dr. Stone
  • 2.Just A Memory
  • 3.Get Out Of My Life Woman
  • 4.Girls From The East
  • 5.He Was A Friend Of Mine
  • 6.Hey Joe
  • 7.Words
  • 8.Back On The Avenue
  • 9.War Of Distortion
  • 10.Tobacco Road
  • 11.Goodbye My Love
  • 12.Too Many People
  • 13.Hey Joe, Where You Gonna Go? - (single version)
  • 14.Funny Little World
  • 15.You Better Move On
  • 16.That's A Different Story
  • 17.Love Minus Zero
  • 18.Be With You
  • 19.Too Many People - (single version)
  • 20.Hey Joe, Where You Gonna Go? - (promo single version)

Product Description:

The Leaves: Bill Rinehart, Bobby Arlin (vocals, guitar); John Beck (vocals, harmonica); Jim Pons (vocals, bass); Tom "Ambrose" Ray (drums).
Producer: Norm Ratner, Nick Venet.
Engineers: George Sernandez, John Haney.
Recorded from 1965-1966. Includes liner notes by Jeff Jarema and Mike Stax.
Digitally remastered by Bob Irwin (Sundazed Studios).
Personnel: Bobby Arlin, Bill Rinehart (vocals, guitar); John Beck (vocals, harmonica); Jim Pons (vocals).
Liner Note Author: Jeff Jarema.
Recording information: 1965-1966.
At last, a legitimate and well-distributed reissue of everything the Leaves released on Mira between 1965 and 1966: the entire Hey Joe album, all of the non-LP songs from their singles, the single version of "Too Many People," and three versions of "Hey Joe" (from the hit single and two previous 45s which used slightly different arrangements). This is not the complete work of the Leaves, as it doesn't include anything from their 1967 Capitol LP All the Good That's Happening, but this is no loss, as that album was pretty lousy. (Two covers of unspecified origin from the compilation 1966 are also missing.) Although the Leaves were erratic, at their best they were a fine band who drew from the Byrds' folk-rock, the Beatles' melodicism, and the hard rock of the Rolling Stones, as best heard on "Hey Joe" and the less celebrated "Too Many People," "Be With You," "Just a Memory," "Dr. Stone," "Funny Little World," and "Words." The reissue is enhanced by the detailed history in the accompanying 16-page booklet. ~ Richie Unterberger

Product Info

  • UPC: 090771105820
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)