Davie Allan & The Arrows The Cycle-Delic Sounds of Davie Allan & The Arrows

The Cycle-Delic Sounds of Davie Allan & The Arrows
Get email alerts for Davie Allan & The Arrows
Sale: $13.48
WINTER SALE: $11.96 Limited Time Only
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $3.02 (20% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 4 copies left
sku:  YXHE
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: April 26, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Sundazed Music Inc.

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - p.118
3 stars out of 5 - "[The album] proved he was capable of thrilling experimentation..."


  • 1.Cycle-delic
  • 2.Invasion
  • 3.Cody's Theme
  • 4.Blue's Trip
  • 5.13th Harley
  • 6.Another Cycle In Detroit
  • 7.Grogs Hog
  • 8.Devil's Angels Theme
  • 9.Born Loser's Theme
  • 10.Mind Transferral
  • 11.Sulkin' - (previously unreleased, Bonus Track)
  • 12.Angel With A Devil's Heart - (previously unreleased, Bonus Track)
  • 13.I'm Leavin' - (previously unreleased, Bonus Track)

Product Description:

Davie Allan & the Arrows: Davie Allan (guitar); Paul Johnson (guitar); Steve Pugh (bass instrument); Larry Brown (drums).
Liner Note Authors: Davie Allan; Jeff Jarema.
Photographer: Davie Allan.
As an album, the Arrows' Cycle Delic Sounds Of.. is a standalone among instrumental rock & roll records. Recorded in late 1967, it fully exploits the recording studio to full-on psychedelic effect, while its tracks are burning rock & roll guitar workouts that merge hard and heavy hot rod, surf, and biker music. This is the next step -- the unholy sonic marriage of Dick Dale and the Ventures with Link Wray and the young Jimi Hendrix. The title cut leads it off with squalling wah-wah raunch & roll, drenched in fuzz and studio effects, it's wild, raw, and unfettered. It is singular here, but it is far from the only great offering. The reworked "Blue's Theme," called "Blue's Trip" here, is an awesome sequel from the band's previous album. The growling Harley at the beginning of "Another Cycle in Detroit" is a teaser for the orgy of multi-tracked six-strings that are distorted almost beyond recognition. The other two killers here are the themes from biker movies: "Devil's Angels Theme" and "The Born Loser's Theme." They are majestically demented and knotty. The album's closer, "Mind Transferral," is a bizarre exercise in acid freakout that seemingly doesn't get it until the wah-wah kicks in over the nonsensical moaned and babbled vocals. ~ Thom Jurek
Year-End Clearance Sale

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 68,465
  • UPC: 090771621924
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)