Link Wray Big City After Dark - Missing Links, Volume 2

Big City After Dark - Missing Links, Volume 2
Get email alerts for Link Wray
Sale: $12.95
WINTER SALE: $10.36 Limited Time Only
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $7.62 (42% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
sku:  ZNOR 211
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: 1996
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Norton


  • 1.Big City After Dark
  • 2.Dance Contest
  • 3.Walkin' Down The Street Called Love #1
  • 4.The Bad And The Good
  • 5.Hold It
  • 6.The Outlaw
  • 7.Baby What You Want Me To Do
  • 8.Rawhide '63
  • 9.Night Life
  • 10.Big City Stomp
  • 11.Rumble Rock (Live)
  • 12.I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry (Live)
  • 13.The Stranger (Live)
  • 14.Link's Boogie (Live)
  • 15.Hard Headed Woman (Live)
  • 16.Roughshod (Live)
  • 17.I Want You I Need You I Love You (Live)
  • 18.The Thrill Of Your Love (Live)
  • 19.Walkin' Down The Street Called Love #2
  • 20.Lucille (Live)
  • 21.Streetfighter (Live)
  • 22.Slow Drag

Product Description:

Personnel: Link Wray (guitar).
The second volume of Norton Records' four-volume MISSING LINKS set, 1996's BIG CITY AFTER DARK is a two-pronged affair. Twelve of the 22 previously unreleased tracks are unissued studio recordings from the early '60s, and a pretty mixed bag in terms of both style and sound quality. During this era of Wray's career, the guitarist was floundering a bit for a public persona. Surf guitar was the big thing in instrumental rock during this period, but Wray wasn't a surf guitarist. Wray's unique style blended the sort of distortion and controlled feedback pioneered by the Chicago blues guitarists and applied it to twangier, somewhat rockabilly-influenced compositions like his big hit "Rumble," creating a new and surprisingly influential blend. The studio recordings find Wray both revisiting past glories, like the self-explanatory "Rawhide '64," and exploring new directions. More impressively, the other 10 tracks on this set are a complete 1961 concert that finds Wray and his Wraymen in full-on rave-up mode. These tracks are sweaty, noisy guitar-god fun, vitally important for all Wray fans.
Rare & Hard-To-Find Audio CDs
Year-End Clearance Sale

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 59,134
  • UPC: 731253021121
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)