Etta James The Complete Modern and Kent Recordings (2-CD)

Uncut: 4 stars out of 5 -- "Her fierce, lust-filled style, sometimes abetted by partner Harvey Fuqua in torrid duets, was peerless."
Get email alerts for Etta James
SUPER SAVINGS: $15 Limited Time Only
List Price: $15.99
You Save: $0.99 (6% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
item number:  AYWW
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: November 4, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Ace Records Uk

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - p.110
4 stars out of 5 -- "Her fierce, lust-filled style, sometimes abetted by partner Harvey Fuqua in torrid duets, was peerless."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Wallflower
  • 2.Hold Me, Squeeze Me
  • 3.Hey Henry
  • 4.Be Mine
  • 5.Good Rockin' Daddy
  • 6.Crazy Feeling
  • 7.W-O-M-A-N
  • 8.That's All
  • 9.My One and Only
  • 10.I'm a Fool
  • 11.Shortnin' Bread Rock
  • 12.Tears Of Joy
  • 13.Tough Lover
  • 14.Fools We Mortals Be
  • 15.Good Lookin'
  • 16.Then I'll Care
  • 17.Pick-Up
  • 18.Market Place
  • 19.Come What May
  • 20.By the Light of the Silvery Moon

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Baby Baby Every Night
  • 2.Sunshine of Love
  • 3.How Big a Fool
  • 4.If It Ain't One Thing
  • 5.I Hope Your Satisfied
  • 6.Dance with Me, Henry
  • 7.Don't You Remember
  • 8.Hickory Dickory Dock
  • 9.Nobody Loves You Like Me
  • 10.We're in Love
  • 11.You Know What I Mean
  • 12.Strange Things Happening
  • 13.Be My Lovey Dovey
  • 14.Tough Lover
  • 15.Good Lookin'
  • 16.Hey Henry
  • 17.Crazy Feeling
  • 18.Market Place
  • 19.Hey Henry
  • 20.Good Rockin' Daddy
  • 21.How Big A Fool
  • 22.That's All

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Tony Rounce.
Ace does it again -- of course. These two discs, The Complete Modern and Kent Recordings, contain every side that the young powerhouse Etta James cut for Modern, Crown, and Kent between 1955 and 1961. There are 42 cuts on these two discs, remastered and sequenced painstakingly according to release date. There are no less than seven previously unissued cuts, and two more that have appeared only on Ace compilations. (There's a killer alternate take of "Hey Henry" here that rivals the released version). Fans will have a lot of this material in various places, but this collection puts everything together in one slamming package. The first disc is comprised exclusively of sides recorded for Modern between '55 and '57. Among the masterpieces of killer, bed-rocking R&B found here are "W-O-M-A-N," "Hey Henry," "Good Rockin' Day," "The Pick-Up," "Tough Lover," and "Be Mine." Disc two, where the treasures really are, lays out the Kent and Crown material, and contains all the rarities. There are a few duets here where James is joined by Betty & Dupree as on "If It Ain't One Thing," and "We're In Love." The rehearsal of "Be My Lovely Dovey," is raw and wonderful, as is the alternate version of "Crazy Feelin," without backing from a group. The liner essay by Tony Rounce is both authoritative and accessible, and gives a solid and revealing portrait of James' place in the pantheon and how her star rose. This is, in its way, an historic set because this is the first time all these sides have appeared in one place. Highly recommended. ~ Thom Jurek

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 41,591
  • UPC: 029667016124
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)