Luther Vandross The Ultimate Luther Vandross

The Ultimate Luther Vandross
Get email alerts for Luther Vandross
18 ratings
SUPER SAVINGS: $7.38 Limited Time Only
List Price: $8.99
You Save: $1.61 (18% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 4 copies left
sku:  32769
Brand New
Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: August 22, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Sony

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - p.156
4 stars out of 5 -- "[H]is genius lay in his extraordinary voice: smooth, soulful and oozing a defiantly non-sexual courtly romance."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.128
4 stars out of 5 -- 'So Amazing' and 'Give Me The Reason' were the most soulful things you were going to get in the late '80s....A fantastic reminder of a fascinating artist who left us too early."


  • 1.Shine
  • 2.Got You Home
  • 3.Never Too Much
  • 4.Your Secret Love
  • 5.A House Is Not A Home
  • 6.Take You Out
  • 7.The Power Of Love / Love Power
  • 8.Here And Now
  • 9.Superstar / Until You Come Back To Me (That's What I'm Gonna Do)
  • 10.I'd Rather
  • 11.Give Me The Reason
  • 12.Think About You
  • 13.Buy Me A Rose
  • 14.Dance With My Father
  • 15.The Closer I Get To You
  • 16.Wait For Love
  • 17.Any Love
  • 18.Endless Love

Product Description:

Personnel: Luther Vandross (background vocals); Jimmy Jam (keyboards); Bryan-Michael Cox (programming); Jason Rome (drum programming).
Audio Mixers: Manny Marroquin; Michael Brauer; Peter Mokran; Ray Bardani.
Liner Note Author: David Ritz.
Recording information: Chalice Studios, Los Angeles, CA; Flyte Tyme Studios, Santa Monica, CA; Marvin's Room, Lost Angeles, CA; The Black Room, Atlanta, GA; the Record Plant, Hollywood, CA.
Arrangers: James Porte; Skip Anderson; Luther Vandross; Marcus Miller; Nat Adderley, Jr.; Reed Vertelney; Shep Crawford; Walter Afanasieff.
Luther Vandross had so many hits throughout the 1980s and '90s, and--more importantly--was such an influential R&B stylist, that any attempt to sum him up on a single-disc compilation is somewhat futile. Still, 2006's ULTIMATE LUTHER VANDROSS, which modified the track list of the 2001 collection of the same name, does an admirable job of capturing the artist's achievement.
Naturally, the set includes the singer's biggest hits, including "Here and Now," "The Power of Love/Love Power," and "Don't Want to Be a Fool," among many others, but this version of ULTIMATE has the jump on the earlier version with its inclusion of songs from Vandross's highly successful 2003 release DANCE WITH MY FATHER, including the dramatically moving title track and his duet with Beyonce on "The Closer I Get to You." A duet with Mariah Carey and two previously unreleased tracks ("Shine" and "Got You Home") round out the package.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 12,816
  • UPC: 827969770023
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)