The Allman Brothers Eat A Peach (Deluxe Edition) (2-CD)

Eat A Peach (Deluxe Edition) (2-CD)
Get email alerts for The Allman Brothers
29 ratings
Sale: $26.99
WINTER SALE: $24.98 Limited Time Only
List Price: $29.99
You Save: $5.01 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 8 copies left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  3279Q
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: May 23, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Island / Mercury

Description by

The Allman Brothers Band's Eat A Peach, originally released as a 2-LP set in February 1972, was the band's biggest seller to date as well as their first Top 10 album, peaking at Number Four and spending an amazing 48 weeks on the charts.

Released soon after the tragic death of Duane Allman, the album featured both live and studio material, including such classics as "Melissa," "Stand Back," "Blue Sky," "One Way Out" and "Mountain Jam." Eat A Peach was an impressively cohesive musical statement, a graceful summation of the Allman Brothers Band's original lineup and a persuasive testament to Duane Allman's immense talent.

Eat A Peach: 2-CD Deluxe Edition features the remastered version of the classic album on Disc One, while Disc Two showcases the complete legendary performance of the Allman Brothers Band at the final June 27, 1971, Fillmore East concert, including nearly 70 minutes' worth of highly-charged, never-before-heard performances.

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 4/13/72, p.62
"...typically, the whole band merges into one organism, one master musician with 30 fingers and six instruments to play on..."
Spin - p.87
5 starts out of 5 -- "[A] sometimes somber, sometimes epic astral-boogie elegy."
Q - p.118
4 stars out of 5 -- "The mellow country vibes of 'Blue Sky' and 'Melissa' are nice..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • $1.29 on iTunes1.Statesboro Blues (Final Fillmore East Concert 6/27/1971)
  • $1.29 on iTunes2.Don't Keep Me Wonderin' (Final Fillmore East Concert 6/27/1971)
  • $1.29 on iTunes3.Done Somebody Wrong (Final Fillmore East Concert 6/27/1971)
  • $1.29 on iTunes4.One Way Out (Final Fillmore East Concert 6/27/1971)
  • 5.In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed (Final Fillmore East Concert 6/27/1971)
  • $1.29 on iTunes6.Midnight Rider (Final Fillmore East Concert 6/27/1971)
  • $0.99 on iTunes7.Hot 'Lanta (Final Fillmore East Concert 6/27/1971)
  • 8.Whipping Post (Final Fillmore East Concert 6/27/1971)
  • 9.You Don't Love Me (Final Fillmore East Concert 6/27/1971)

Product Description:

Personnel: Dickey Betts, Duane Allman (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, slide guitar); Gregg Allman (vocals, acoustic guitar, piano, electric piano, organ); Butch Trucks (vibraphone, drums, tambourine, timpani, percussion, gong); Berry Oakley (bass guitar); Jai Johanny Johanson (drums).
Audio Mixer: Suha Gur.
Audio Remixer: Ovie Sparks.
Liner Note Author: Scott Schinder.
Arrangers: Phil Walden; Bill Graham.
Released shortly after the death of guitar legend Duane Allman, EAT A PEACH occupies an important transitional spot in the Allman Brothers' discography. The leading three tracks, recorded after Duane's death, point the way toward the band's future. While still rooted in the group's blues-jam roots, these songs show the Allmans angling closer to the melodic country style that was guitarist Dicky Betts's forte. Betts acquits himself well on the opening "Ain't Wastin' Time No More," deftly handling a slide-guitar part that cannot help but evoke the group's departed member.
"Melissa" plays squarely to Betts's strengths, while "Les Brers in A Minor" recalls the extended jams of the AT THE FILLMORE EAST album. The next three tracks on EAT A PEACH are taken from the Fillmore shows. Each selection represents the Duane-era Allmans at their best, especially the blistering "Trouble No More." The sound quality on these tracks, however, does not compare well to the analogous tracks on THE FILLMORE CONCERTS, an expanded reissue of the classic live album. The final three tracks, studio sessions featuring Duane, hint at what PEACH might have been had Duane lived.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 49,973
  • UPC: 602498778494
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)