Earl Klugh Late Night Guitar

Late Night Guitar
Get email alerts for Earl Klugh
15 ratings
WINTER SALE: $8.84 Limited Time Only
List Price: $9.95
You Save: $1.11 (11% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
15 copies available
sku:  J8RW
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 9, 1999
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Blue Note Records


  • 1.Smoke Gets In Your Eyes
  • 2.Nice To Be Around (Nice To Have Around)
  • 3.Like A Lover
  • 4.Laura
  • 5.Jamaica Farewell
  • 6.Tenderly
  • 7.Mona Lisa
  • 8.Triste
  • 9.Two For The Road
  • 10.Mirabella
  • 11.Lisbon Antiqua
  • 12.A Time For Love
  • 13.I'll Never Say Goodbye (The Promise)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Earl Klugh (acoustic guitar); Dave Matthews (conductor); David Tofani (tenor saxophone); Ronnie Cuber (baritone saxophone); John Gatchell, Joe Shepley (trumpet); Sam Burtis (trombone); Philip Bodner, Walter Kane (woodwinds); Richard Sortomme, Regis Landiorio (violin); Richard Maximoff, Theodore Israel (viola); Jonathan Abramowitz (cello); Gloria Agostini (harp); Davis Friedman (vibraphone, percussion); Ken Ascher (electric piano); David Spinozza (guitar); Marcus Miller (electric bass); Dr. Gibbs, Jose Madera, Michael Collazo (percussion).
Producer: Earl Klugh.
Reissue producer: Michael Cuscuna.
Recorded at Electric Lady Studios and Columbia's 30th Street Studios, New York, New York in 1979 and 1980.
Digitally remastered using 20-bit technology by Ron McMaster.
Personnel: Earl Klugh (guitar, acoustic guitar); David Spinozza (guitar); Gloria Agostini (harp); Barry Finclair, Marvin Morgenstern, Leo Kahn, Guy Lumia, Diana Halprin, John Pintavalle, Sanford Allen, Regis Iandiorio, Charles Libove, David Nadien, Richard Sortomme, Harry Cykman (violin); Theodore Israel, Lamar Alsop, Lenore Weinstock, Richard Maximoff, Emanuel Vardi (viola); Jonathan Abramowitz, Beverly Lauridsen, Jesse Levy, Charles McCracken (cello); Walter Kane, Phil Bodner (woodwinds, wind); David Tofani (saxophone, tenor saxophone); Ronnie Cuber (saxophone, baritone saxophone); John Gatchell, Joseph J. Shepley, Joe Shepley (trumpet); Sam Burtis (trombone); Kenny Ascher (piano); Marcus Miller (electric bass); Mike Collazo, Leonard "Doc" Gibbs, David Friedman, Michael Collaza, Dr. Gibbs, Jose Madera (percussion).
Recording information: Columbia's 30th Street Studio, New York, NY (1979-1980); Electric Lady Studios, New York, NY (1979-1980).
This is the perfect setting for acoustic guitarist Earl Klugh, playing strong melodies (including such standards as "Smoke Gets in Your Eyes," "Laura," "Mona Lisa," and "Two for the Road") while joined by strings and several horns in an orchestra arranged and conducted by David Matthews. As usual for a Klugh session, the guitarist sticks mostly to the themes and does not improvise much, as he never considered himself a jazz player; but the overall effect is quite pleasing. ~ Scott Yanow

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 71,110
  • UPC: 724349857322
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)