Oscar Peterson Plays the Jerome Kern Songbook [Bonus Track]

Get email alerts for Oscar Peterson
Price: $11.10
List Price: $12.99
You Save: $1.89 (15% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  Vinyl LP
item number:  6YKC8
on most orders of $75+
New Condition

Vinyl LP Details

  • Released: August 19, 2016
  • Originally Released: 2017
  • Label: Waxtime

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.87
3 stars out of 5 -- "[A] 1959 set that includes sparkling versions of 'The Song Is You' and 'Yesterdays.'"

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.I won't Dance
  • 2.Bill
  • 3.The Song is You
  • 4.A fine Romance
  • 5.Can't Help Lovin' Dat Man
  • 6.Ol' Man River
  • 7.Look For The Silver Lining

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Long Ago (and Far Away)
  • 2.Lovely To Look At
  • 3.Pick Yourself Up
  • 4.Smoke Gets In Your Eyes
  • 5.The Way You Look Tonight
  • 6.Yesterdays

Product Description:

Within a one-month period the Oscar PetersonTrio (with bassist Ray Brown and their new drummer Ed Thigpen) recorded nine different SONGBOOKS, 108 selections in all. Not too surprisingly, this music had a minimum of prior planning and few arranged passages, putting it on a lower level than the typical music played by Peterson's prior trio with guitarist Herb Ellis. The 12 numbers performed for the Jerome Kern LP are given melodic and consistently swinging treatments with such songs as "I Won't Dance," "The Song Is You," and "Pick Yourself Up" among the better selections heard on this pleasing program.
Vinyl LPs

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 8436559461269
  • Shipping Weight: 0.75/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)