Shakedown Street (Expanded & Remastered)

Shakedown Street (Expanded & Remastered)
Get email alerts for Grateful Dead
9 ratings
Price: $17.09
List Price: $18.99
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
sku:  32957
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 7, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Grateful Dead / WEA


  • 1.Good Lovin'
  • 2.France
  • 3.Shakedown Street
  • 4.Srengetti
  • 5.Fire On The Mountain
  • 6.I Need A Miracle
  • 7.From The Heart Of Me
  • 8.Stagger Lee
  • 9.All New Minglewood Blues
  • 10.If I Had The World To Give
  • 11.Good Lovin' (Studio Outtake)
  • 12.Ollin Arageed (Live)
  • 13.Fire On The Mountain (Live)
  • 14.Stagger Lee (Live)
  • 15.All New Minglewood (Live)

Product Description:

The Grateful Dead: Donna Godchaux (vocals); Jerry Garcia, Bob Weir (vocals, guitar); Phil Lesh (vocals, bass); Keith Godchaux (piano); Mickey Hart (percussion); Bill Kreutzmann (drums, percussion).
Engineer: Bob Matthews, Brett Cohen.
Recorded at Club Le Front, San Rafael, California.
Grateful Dead: Jerry Garcia, Bob Weir (vocals, guitar); Keith Godchaux (keyboards); Phil Lesh (bass guitar); Mickey Hart, Bill Kreutzmann (drums, percussion); Donna Jean Godchaux (background vocals).
Personnel: Hamza el Din (vocals, oud, hand claps); Lowell George (vocals); Matthew Kelly (harp); Steven Schuster (horns); Jordan Amarantha (percussion).
Additional personnel: The Nubian Youth Choir (tar, background vocals); Hamza el Din (tar); Jordan Amarantha, Lowell George, Matthew Kelly , Steven Schuster.
Audio Mixer: Tom Flye.
Liner Note Authors: Rip Rense; Reggie Collins.
Photographers: Ron Rakow; Ed Perlstein; Bruce Polonsky; Robert Minkin.
Arranger: Bob Weir.
For hardcore hippies, SHAKEDOWN STREET was the Dead's nadir, as they moved from the arty jazz-rock epics of WAKE OF THE FLOOD and TERRAPIN STATION to a radio-friendly light-funk sound. While the band seemed to have momentarily abandoned their more experimental leanings, they had shored up their songcraft, and SHAKEDOWN STREET contains several of the Dead's finest tunes, presented with a minimum of fuss for maximum impact. The band even managed to score a semi-hit with their Latin-tinged arrangement of the Rascals' "Good Lovin'."
Bob Weir's bluesy "I Need A Miracle" wound up becoming a staple of the Dead's live shows for years to come, as did the funky the-scene-is-dead plaint that is the title tune. Garcia's hits his stride, both vocally and melodically, on the beautiful devotional ballad "If I Had The World To Give," whose construction bears more than a hint of a Beatles influence. SHAKEDOWN STREET also marked the end of an era for the Dead, as it would be the last album to feature keyboardist Keith Godchaux and his vocalist wife Donna.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 64,714
  • UPC: 081227328023
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)