Clark Terry Swahili

Get email alerts for Clark Terry
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $9.99
You Save: $4.01 (40% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 5 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  ZCOP 00178
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 13, 2015
  • Originally Released: 2017
  • Label: Intermusic


  • 1.Swahili
  • 2.Double Play
  • 3.Slow Boat
  • 4.Co - Op
  • 5.Kitten
  • 6.The Countess
  • 7.Tuma
  • 8.Chuckles
  • 9.Bohemia After Dark
  • 10.I Get a Kick Out of You
  • 11.Blues in My Room
  • 12.I Can't Give You Anything But Love
  • 13.Chuckles
  • 14.Blues for Clarinet
  • 15.Solitude
  • 16.What Am I Here for

Product Description:

With the exception of three songs cut as V-Discs in 1947, this set contains flugelhornist Clark Terry's first recordings as a leader. Joined by trombonist Jimmy Cleveland, baritonist Cecil Payne, pianist Horace Silver, Oscar Pettiford on cello, bassist Wendell Marshall, and drummer Art Blakey, Terry performs eight obscure songs that are arranged quite expertly by Quincy Jones. Terry sounds much more influenced by Dizzy Gillespie than he would in just a couple of years, but his good-humored musical personality and control of his horn were already obvious. With Pettiford offering occasional cello solos (in addition to playing second bass) and Cleveland in top form, this is an LP long overdue to be reissued on CD. ~ Scott Yanow

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 36,734
  • UPC: 8436539313328
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)