Together Again

Get email alerts for Teddy Edwards
Price: $16.70
Special Order Item: Usually ships in 7-14 days
Only 5 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  6JX49
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: December 13, 2011
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: American Jazz Class


  • 1.Together Again
  • 2.You Stepped Out Of A Dream
  • 3.Up There
  • 4.Perhaps
  • 5.Misty
  • 6.Sandy
  • 7.Our Love Is Here To Stay
  • 8.Frankly Speaking
  • 9.Fools Rush In
  • 10.Undecided
  • 11.Beve's Comjumulations
  • 12.Willow Weep For Me
  • 13.Lover Come Back To Me

Product Description:

Personnel: Teddy Edwards (tenor saxophone); Howard McGhee (trumpet); Phineas Newborn, Jr. (piano); Ray Brown (bass); Ed Thigpen (drums).
Recorded at Contemporary's Studio, Los Angeles, California on May 15 & 17, 1961. Originally released on Contemporary (7588). Includes original liner notes by Lester Koenig.
Digitally remastered by Phil De Lancie (1990, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
Tenor saxophonist Teddy Edwards and trumpeter Howard McGhee had played together regularly from 1945 to 1947. For their recorded reunion, they are assisted by the masterful pianist Phineas Newborn, bassist Ray Brown and drummer Ed Thigpen. Edwards, McGhee, and Brown contributed one new song apiece which alternates with a trio of standards ("You Stepped Out of a Dream," "Misty" and Charlie Parker's "Perhaps"). The trumpeter was having a short-lived comeback at the time and he had largely regained his earlier form. Edwards sounds as strong as ever and Newborn was an up-and-coming talent. Their collaboration for this boppish date is generally quite memorable. ~ Scott Yanow

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 101,834
  • UPC: 8436028699421
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)