Johnny Winter Second Winter (Legacy Edition) (2-CD)

Second Winter (Legacy Edition) (2-CD)
Get email alerts for Johnny Winter
31 ratings
WINTER SALE: $17.82 Limited Time Only
List Price: $19.99
You Save: $2.17 (11% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  32ASC
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: October 19, 2004
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Sony

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.154
Included in Rolling Stone's The 10 Best Reissues & Anthologies Of 2004 - "Winter - the ultimate white-blues sensation - made good on the hype with this late-'69 freak of a release..."
Uncut - p.92
3 stars out of 5 - "SECOND WINTER features blistering versions of 'Highway 6'1 Revisited' and 'Johnny B Goode', and his guitar technique is clearly phenomenal."
"...[though the] original album was rather tough-sounding, the CD's increased treble adds the extra layer of icing, making this one sweet release...lean and hungry sounding..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Memory Pain
  • 2.I'm Not Sure
  • 3.The Good Love
  • 4.Slippin' And Slidin'
  • 5.Miss Ann
  • 6.Johnny B. Goode
  • 7.Highway 61 Revisited
  • 8.I Love Everybody
  • 9.Hustled Down In Texas
  • 10.I Hate Everybody
  • 11.Fast Life Rider
  • 12.Early In The Morning
  • 13.Tell The Truth - Instrumental

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Help Me (Live)
  • 2.Johnny B. Goode (Live)
  • 3.Mama Talk To Your Daughter (Live)
  • 4.It's My Own Fault (Live)
  • 5.Black Cat Bone (Live)
  • 6.Mean Town Blues (Live)
  • 7.Tobacco Road (Live)
  • 8.Frankenstein (Live)
  • 9.Tell The Truth (Live)

Product Description:

Also available in a 3-pack with JOHNNY WINTER and CAPTURED LIVE.
Personnel: Johnny Winter (vocals, guitar, mandolin); Edgar Winter (alto saxophone, piano, harpsichord, organ); Tommy Shannon, Dennis Collins (bass); John Turner (drums, percussion).
Includes liner notes by Johnny Winter.
Personnel: Johnny Winter (vocals, guitar, electric guitar, slide guitar, mandolin); Edgar Winter (vocals, saxophone, alto saxophone, piano, harpsichord, organ, keyboards); "Uncle" John Turner (drums, percussion).
Audio Mixers: Thom Cadley; Bob Auger.
Liner Note Author: Andy Aledort.
Recording information: Nashville, TN (07/19/1969-08/12/1969).
Authors: Johnny Winter; Tommy Shannon.
Photographers: Don Hunstein; Fred Lombardi; Peter Sanders; Richard Avedon; Amalie R. Rothschild.
Johnny Winter's second album for Columbia--duh--1970's SECOND WINTER is also notorious for a gimmicky sales device. When the recording sessions were over, Winter had enough material for an album and a half; rather than add a side of filler, Columbia simply promoted the album as the world's first three-sided album. (In a snarky review, Rolling Stone sarcastically gave the blank fourth side an in-depth discussion.)
The last of Winter's albums to feature his original backing band--drummer Uncle John Turner, bassist Tommy Shannon, and brother Edgar on keyboards and saxes--SECOND WINTER is a refinement of the blues-rock aesthetic of 1969's JOHNNY WINTER. Louder, harder, faster, and more reckless, this is to JOHNNY WINTER as Elvis Costello's THIS YEAR'S MODEL is to MY AIM IS TRUE: an album so phenomenal that it makes the debut, excellent though it is, sound weak in comparison. Highlights include the punky "I Hate Everybody" and a brilliant Hendrix-style deconstruction of Dylan's "Highway 61 Revisited."

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 71,025
  • UPC: 696998573529
  • Shipping Weight: 0.32/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)