Leonard Cohen Field Commander Cohen: Tour of 1979 (Live)

Field Commander Cohen: Tour of 1979 (Live)
Get email alerts for Leonard Cohen
26 ratings
SALE: $5.97
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 5 copies left
Format:  CD
sku:  SSP 24701
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 1, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 2/23/01, p.162
"...His third set of live recordings...is also his best, balancing the intimacy of early numbers with subtly robust band versions of mid-period work..." - Rating: A-
Q - 4/01, p.118
3 stars out of 5 - "...Instrumentally it's surprisingly varied with violins and sax solos, but the music knows its place and stays firmly in step behind Cohen's meditative delivery..."
Mojo (Publisher) - 3/01, p.94
"...These tracks stay more faithful to their originals and represent a broad cross-section of his less familiar repertoire..."


  • 1.Field Commander Cohen
  • 2.The Window
  • 3.The Smokey Life
  • 4.The Gypsy's Wife
  • 5.Lover Lover Lover
  • 6.Hey, That's No Way To Say Goodbye
  • 7.The Stranger Song
  • 8.The Guests
  • 9.Memories
  • 10.Why Don't You Try
  • 11.Bird On The Wire
  • 12.So Long, Marianne

Product Description:

Personnel: Leonard Cohen (vocals, guitar); Jennifer Warnes, Sharon Robinson (vocals); John Bilezikjian (mandolin, oud); Raffi Hakopian (violin).
Passenger: Mitch Watkins (electric guitar); Paul Ostermayer (flute, saxophone); Bill Ginn (keyboards); Roscoe Beck (bass); Steve Meador (drums).
Recorded live at the Hammersmith Odeon in London on December 4, 5 & 6, 1979 and at the Dome Theatre in Brighton, England on December 15, 1979.
Digitally remastered by Doug Sax (The Mastering Lab, Hollywood, California).
As he'd firmly established himself as a poet and novelist years before he made his first album, Leonard Cohen is often regarded less as a musician than as a writer who happens to sing. But his songs have always displayed a subtle but mesmerizing melodic sense that dovetails gracefully with his lyrics, and though his craggy voice has its limits, no one else interprets Cohen's songs with his degree of intelligence and quiet passion. In 1979, after the release of his album Recent Songs, Cohen set out on an international concert tour accompanied by members of the jazz-rock group Passenger; Field Commander Cohen was compiled from recordings of the 1979 tour, and it presents an especially strong argument for Cohen's gifts as a musician. Cohen's voice had gained a great deal of strength and nuance since the dates preserved on 1973's Live Songs, and the smoky rasp that began to scar his vocals on I'm Your Man had yet to set in; this may well be Cohen's best set of recorded performances as a singer, and having Jennifer Warnes and Sharon Robinson on hand as duet partners is especially rich icing on the cake. While the musicians take care to never intrude upon the songs, they play beautifully, with remarkable taste and skill; Passenger bring out the nuances of these songs with a sure but gentle hand (especially bassist Roscoe Beck and Paul Ostermayer on sax and clarinet), and Raffi Hakopian's violin and John Bilezikjian's oud add breathtaking punctuation to these performances (Cohen often cites his musicians after the songs, and it's not hard to imagine a singer being thrilled to work with musicians of this caliber). While it falls short of the stark emotional force of Songs of Leonard Cohen or Songs of Love and Hate, Field Commander Cohen makes clear that Cohen writes songs, not literature accompanied by incidental music, and here these 12 songs possess a passionate, aching beauty that's a wonder to behold; this is easily the best Leonard Cohen live recording to emerge to date. ~ Mark Deming

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 42,809
  • UPC: 886972470122
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)