The Allman Brothers Band Peakin' At The Beacon

Peakin' At The Beacon
Get email alerts for The Allman Brothers Band
41 ratings
SUPER SAVINGS: $6.50 Limited Time Only
List Price: $6.98
You Save: $0.80 (7% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  32C95
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 1, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 4/12/01, p.141
3 stars out of 5 - "...Presents the Allmans as a 'living' thing with a sturdy song bag - and shows why I'll back at the Beacon every year....They are the rock equivalent of the Coutn Basie and Duke Ellington organizations, revisiting classic material with fresh swing..."


  • 1.Don't Want You No More
  • 2.It's Not My Cross To Bear
  • 3.Ain't Wastin' Time No More
  • 4.Every Hungry Woman
  • 5.Please Call Home
  • 6.Stand Back
  • 7.Black Hearted Woman
  • 8.Leave My Blues At Home
  • 9.Seven Turns
  • 10.High Falls

Product Description:

Allman Brothers Band: Gregg Allman (vocals, acoustic guitar, piano, Hammond B-3 organ); Dickey Betts (vocals, acoustic guitar); Derek Trucks (guitar); Oteil Burbridge (bass); Jaimoe, Butch Trucks (drums, percussion); Marc Quinones (congas, percussion, background vocals).
Recorded live at The Beacon Theatre, New York, New York between March 9 & 25, 2000.
"High Falls" was nominated for the 2002 Grammy Award for Best Rock Instrumental Performance.
Amidst the enmity between Gregg Allman and Dickie Betts at the time of this recording, The Allman Brothers still managed to play a 13-night stand in March 2000 at New York's Beacon Theater. The resulting PEAKIN' AT THE BEACON is a 10-song sliver of the band's legendary in-concert prowess no worse the wear from whatever friction may have been going on behind the scenes. All the standard ABB hallmarks are heard throughout this set: the expansive guitar leads, thunderous rhythms, and chugging organ parts, all pierced by Gregg Allman's gruff but soulful vocals.
Diehards are served well by a set packed with songs predominantly dating back to the band's earliest efforts, including their 1969 self-titled debut and the 1970 follow-up IDLEWILD SOUTH. Casual fans may only recognize the epic slow blues original "It's Not My Cross To Bear," and the life-affirming EAT A PEACH cut "Ain't Wastin' Time No More." Otherwise, nuggets like "Stand Back" and "Please Call Home" abound. In keeping with the Allmans' marathon jamming abilities is the inclusion of a near half-hour version of "High Falls" from 1975's WIN, LOSE OR DRAW.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 67,759
  • UPC: 886972495323
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)