A Long Time Comin'
Get email alerts for Electric Flag
56 ratings
SALE: $5.97
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
or Mix & Match 10 CDs for $49.90
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 5 copies left
Format:  CD
sku:  SSP 23750
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 1, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - p.94
3 stars out of 5 -- "Highlighted by the volatile Mike Bloomfield's piercing bluesy guitar, Buddy Miles' energetic drumming and Nick Gravenites' rich vocals..."


  • 1.Killing Floor
  • 2.Groovin' Is Easy
  • 3.Over-Lovin' You
  • 4.She Should Have Just
  • 5.Wine
  • 6.Texas
  • 7.Sittin' In Circles
  • 8.You Don't Realize
  • 9.Another Country
  • 10.Easy Rider
  • 11.Sunny
  • 12.Mystery
  • 13.Look Into My Eyes
  • 14.Goin' Down Slow

Product Description:

In a demonstration of late-1960s musical guerilla warfare, "Killing Floor," the first track of the debut album from the blues guitarist Mike Bloomfield's ambitious yet short-lived Electric Flag, juxtaposes a sample of a speech by then-President Lyndon B. Johnson with a stinging Bloomfield guitar salvo. Though this opener's pent-up energy isn't quite matched on the rest of the set--which combines the psychedelic rock of "Groovin Is Easy" and "Sittin' Around in Circles" with straight blues tracks such as the jumping-and-jiving "Wine" and the slow-burning "Texas"--it highlights Bloomfield's impressive, though unrealized vision of a band that would filter a wide variety of American music through a contemporary sensibility.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 56 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Unrecognized Classic Music Lover: from Greenville, NY US -- May, 21, 2008

I was impressed with the music on this LP in 1968 and I have listened to the LP all these years. Forty years later I still spin a CD version of this title.
Mike Bloomfield headed this amazing ensemble; which featured 'Buddy' Miles', Harvey Brooks and Nich Gravenites.
Bloomfield's guitar playing stands up to any rock/blues players living or dead. And the arrangements for all of these songs are great. Gravenites is a distinctive vocalist as well.
The CD version has four cuts from the first Electric Flag LP added as the last tracks.

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 27,896
  • UPC: 886972375021
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)