Get email alerts for The Isley Brothers
12 ratings
WINTER SALE: $5.97 Limited Time Only
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 8 copies left
sku:  SSP 23260
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 1, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 5/00, p.134
Included in Q Magazine's "Best Soul Albums Of All Time" - "...Sultry pop-rock that showcased their ensemble skills. Huge hits followed..."
Q - 5/00, p.134
Included in Q Magazine's "Best Soul Albums Of All Time" - "...Sultry pop-rock that showcased their ensemble skills. Huge hits followed..."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.121
4 stars out of 5 -- "3 + 3 was their international breakthrough, its mix of tough burbling funk and deliciously airy and melodic ballads hitting the spot in 1973."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.92
"[I]t's a delicious blend of the brothers' slick but emotional soft soul....There's much to enjoy here..."


  • 1.That Lady
  • 2.Don't Let Me Be Lonely Tonight
  • 3.If You Were There
  • 4.You Walk Your Way
  • 5.To The Music
  • 6.What It Comes Down To
  • 7.Sunshine (Go Away Today)
  • 8.Summer Breeze
  • 9.The Highways Of My Life
  • 10.That Lady (Live)

Product Description:

Originally released on T-Neck (32453).
The Isley Brothers: Ronald Isley (vocals); Ernie Isley (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, maracas, percussion); Chris Jasper (piano, electric piano, Clavinet, Moog synthesizer, tambourine); Marvin Isley (bass instrument); O'Kelly Isley, Rudolph Isley (background vocals).
Additional personnel: Truman Thomas (organ, keyboards); George Moreland (drums).
Liner Note Author: David Ritz.
Though the Isley Brothers recorded some excellent material in their original line-up as a trio, their sound and vision expanded when the group itself expanded to a sextet in the early '70s. 3+3 marks the inception of the Isleys' new incarnation, one that features, in addition to Ronald, O'Kelly, and Rudolph, younger brothers Ernie (guitar) and Marvin (bass), and cousin Chris Japser (keyboards). On 3+3 the band's slick, besuited Tamla/Motown soul was replaced by grittier, funkier stuff with some truly spectacular instrumental prowess.
The Isleys had always been given to performing reverent, stretched-out covers of songs they loved, and 3+3 has its share, with treatments of Seals & Crofts's "Summer Breeze," James Taylor's "Don't Let Me Be Lonely Tonight," and the Doobie Brothers' "Listen to the Music." The Isleys' "That Lady Pts 1 & 2" and "The Highways of My Life," among other originals, showcase the pyrotechnics of funk monster Marvin and the Hendrix-inspired excursions of Ernie. The Isleys' mixture of rock, funk, soul, and R&B was at its peak here, and 3+3 stands as one of the best albums in the group's lengthy discography.
Year-End Clearance Sale

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 14,899
  • UPC: 886972326023
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)