The Seekers The Ultimate Collection

Get email alerts for The Seekers
32 ratings
SALE: $12.98
List Price: $24.99
You Save: $12.01 (48% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
item number:  ZABI 00221
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 10, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: EMD Int'l


  • 1.Come the Day
  • 2.I'll Never Find Another You
  • 3.The Wreck of the Old 97
  • 4.A World of Our Own
  • 5.Dese Bones Gwine Rise Again
  • 6.When Will the Good Apples Fall?
  • 7.Myra
  • 8.Love Is Kind, Love Is Wine
  • 9.Morningtown Ride
  • 10.Someday, One Day
  • 11.The Leaving of Liverpool
  • 12.Keep a Dream in Your Pocket
  • 13.Kumbaya
  • 14.On the Other Side
  • 15.The Carnival Is Over
  • 16.Allentown Jail
  • 17.The Shores of Avalon
  • 18.We're Movin' On
  • 19.The Bush Girl
  • 20.You Can Tell the World
  • 21.Nobody Knows the Trouble I've Seen
  • 22.Georgy Girl
  • 23.Colours of My Life
  • 24.Far Shore
  • 25.I Am Australian - (live)
  • 26.Massachussets

Product Description:

Personnel: Keith Potger (vocals, acoustic guitar, acoustic 12-string guitar, banjo); Bruce Woodley (vocals, acoustic guitar, banjo, mandolin); Judith Durham (vocals, autoharp, tambourine); Athol Guy (vocals, double bass).
Audio Mixers: David Leonard ; Mike Duffy.
Liner Note Author: Graham Simpson.
Recording information: EMI Abbey Road Studios, London, England (1963-2003); Melbourne Concert Hall, Australia (1963-2003); Metropolis Studio, Melbourne, Australia (1963-2003); Music And Effects, Melbourne, Australia (1963-2003); Olympic Studios, London, England (1963-2003); Sing sing Studios, Melbourne, Australia (1963-2003); Soundplant Studios, Melbourne, Australia (1963-2003); W&G Studios, Melbourne, Australia (1963-2003).
Arrangers: Keith Potger; Athol Guy; Bruce Woodley; Judith Durham.
Although the Seekers have a five-CD box set released in Australia, it's hard to argue with the title of this two-disc European compilation, which focuses on the group's mid-'60s heyday. In the U.S., they were a two-hit wonder, those hits being "I'll Never Find Another You" and "Georgy Girl." In the U.K., they had six Top Ten hits, plus a couple that got to number eleven. Of course, all of those are included on a set containing 50 tracks that runs 131-and-a-half minutes. The rest of the material provides strong evidence of both the Seekers' talents and their limitations. There is a bright dividing line in '60s pop music between the musicians who, in the wake of the Beatles, learned to write their own songs and those who didn't. Although they fell under the wing of Tom Springfield, (who wrote "I'll Never Find Another You" and co-wrote "Georgy Girl") early on, the Seekers did have a songwriter in their midst, Bruce Woodley, who collaborated occasionally with Paul Simon, notably on his most successful composition (unfortunately, not a Seekers hit, although they cover it here), "Red Rubber Ball." His association with Simon also brought the group an otherwise unheralded Simon song (and one of those number elevens), "Someday One Day." But he was not prolific enough to turn the Seekers into a group that primarily generated its own material. Springfield brought them most of their hits, with Judith Durham singing lead in her warm, Judy Collins-like voice, and then they filled up their albums with cover songs, on which other members sometimes took the lead. Those covers fill up this album, too, to the extent that a large part of the collection could be called, "The Seekers Sing the Folk-Pop Hits of the '60s." They present their versions of songs written by and/or associated with Peter, Paul & Mary, Bob Dylan, Tom Paxton, Joan Baez, Simon & Garfunkel, the Beatles, the Mamas & the Papas, and so on, all of them done effectively, but none any better than their originators. In this sense, an "ultimate" Seekers collection may be a bit more than even a loyal fan needs. And despite the length of the set, the sequencing and mastering are questionable. A decision has been made to push the hits up to the front, but thereafter the tracks are all mixed up, and since their sound quality is quite variable -- some clear and powerful (and recently remastered), some sounding the worse for wear, some in stereo, some in mono -- the listening experience is inconsistent. Still, one gets a good sense of the Seekers' music at the peak of their success on this collection. ~ William Ruhlmann

Similar Products


Product Info

  • UPC: 724359449128
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)