School Days
Get email alerts for Stanley Clarke
8 ratings
WINTER SALE: $5.97 Limited Time Only
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 8 copies left
sku:  SSP 23193
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 1, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.


  • 1.School Days
  • 2.Quiet Afternoon
  • 3.The Dancer
  • 4.Desert Song
  • 5.Hot Fun
  • 6.Life Is Just A Game

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Stanley Clarke (vocals, piano, acoustic, electric & piccolo basses, handbells, gong, chimes); Jack Nimitz, Buddy Childers, Lew McCreary, George Bohanon, William Peterson, Stuart Blumberg, Albert Aarons (brass); David Sancious (organ, keyboards, Mini-Moog synthesizer, guitar); George Duke (keyboards); Billy Cobham (Moog synthesizer, drums); Icarus Johnson (acoustic & electric guitars); John McLaughlin (acoustic guitar); Raymond Gomez (guitar) Gerry Brown (drums, handbells); Steve Gadd (drums); Milt Holland (congas, triangle, percussion).
Recorded at Electric Lady Studios, New York, New York and A&M Studios, Los Angeles, California in June 1976.
Every pro electric-bass player and their mothers wore out the grooves of this record when it first came out, trying to cop Clarke's speedy, thundering, slapped-thumb bass licks. Yet ultimately, it was Clarke's rapidly developing compositional skills that made this album so listenable and so much fun for the rest of us, then and now. The title track not only contributed a killer riff to the bass vocabulary; it is a cunningly organized piece of music with a well-defined structure. Moreover, Clarke follows his calling card with two tunes that are even more memorable -- the sauntering ballad "Quiet Afternoon" and an ebullient, Brazilian percussion-laced number with a good string arrangement and a terrific groove, "The Dancer." Clarke also brings out the standup bass for a soulful acoustic dialogue with John McLaughlin on "Desert Song." Evidently enthused by their leader's material, David Sancious (keyboards) and Raymond Gomez (guitars) deliver some of their best solos on records -- and with George Duke on hand on one cut, you hear some preliminary flickerings of Clarke's ventures into the commercial sphere. But at this point in time, Clarke was triumphantly proving that it was possible to be both good and commercial at the same time. ~ Richard S. Ginell
Year-End Clearance Sale

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 12,112
  • UPC: 886972319322
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)