Ellington Uptown
Get email alerts for Duke Ellington
14 ratings
WINTER SALE: $5.97 Limited Time Only
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 8 copies left
sku:  SSP 24689
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 1, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Jazziz - 3/93, p.62
"...UPTOWN has Ellington's best studio recordings from this time [1951-1955] including one of his major works, 'Harlem,' and a memorable rendition of 'Take The "A" Train' highlighted by Betty Roche's wonderful bop vocal..."


  • 1.Skin Deep
  • 2.The Mooche
  • 3.Take The 'A' Train
  • 4.A Tone Parallel To Harlem
  • 5.Perdido (Harlem Suite)
  • 6.The Controversial Suite: Before My Time
  • 7.The Controversial Suite: Later
  • 8.The Liberian Suite: I Like The Sunrise
  • 9.The Liberian Suite: Dance No. 1
  • 10.The Liberian Suite: Dance No. 2
  • 11.The Liberian Suite: Dance No. 3
  • 12.The Liberian Suite: Dance No. 4
  • 13.The Liberian Suite: Dance No. 5

Product Description:

Personnel: Duke Ellington (piano); Betty Roche (vocals); Paul Gonsalves, Harry Carney, Jimmy Hamilton, Russell Procope, Hilton Jefferson, Willie Smith (saxophone); William Anderson, Clark Terry, Willie Cook, Ray Nance, Harold Baker, Dick Vance, Francis Williams (trumpet); Juan Tizol, Quentin Jackson, Britt Woodman (trombone); Billy Strayhorn (piano); Wendall Marshall (bass); Louis Bellson (drums).
Recorded at Columbia 30th Street Studio, New York, New York between December 7, 1951 and December 8, 1952. Includes liner notes by Stanley Dance.
Personnel: Duke Ellington, Billy Strayhorn (arranger, piano); Betty Roche, Al Hibbler (vocals); Johnny Hodges (soprano & alto saxophones, clarinet); Russell Procope (alto saxophone, clarinet); Willie Smith, Hilton Jefferson (alto saxophone); Jimmy Hamilton (tenor saxophone, clarinet); Paul Gonsalves, Al Sears (tenor saxophone); Harry Carney (baritone saxophone, bass clarinet); Ray Nance (trumpet, violin); Cat Anderson, Harold "Shorty" Baker, Francis Williams, Willie Cook, Clark Terry (trumpet); Tyree Glenn (trombone, vibraphone); Quentin Jackson, Britt Woodman, Juan Tizol, Lawrence Brown, Claude Jones (trombone); Fred Guy (guitar); Oscar Pettiford, Junior Raglin, Wendell Marshall (bass); Sonny Greer (drums, tympani); Louis Bellson (drums).
Principally recorded at Liederkranz Hall and Columbia's 30th St. Studios, New York, New York in 1947 & 1951-52. Originally released on Columbia (4639).
This release blends the original 1952 ELLINGTON UPTOWN album with recordings made by a previous Ellington lineup in 1947. After World War Two and the advent of television had effectively put an end to the big band era, large bands like Duke Ellington's survived by performing more cerebral music for non-dancing audiences. Thoughtful, occasionally humorous pieces like "Before My Time" and "Later," both parts of the "Controversial Suite," were the result, but Ellington's outfit was still capable of turning on the musical pyrotechnics, as Louis Bellson's drum vehicle, "Skin Deep," attests. Ellington's perennial "The Mooche," which he performed from his Cotton Club days in Harlem through the end of his career, is another highlight, as is trombonist Juan Tizol's exotic "Perdido." Bellson and Tizol had both been poached from Harry James's orchestra immediately prior to the 1952 recording, and Bellson in particular brings a revitalizing energy to these arrangements.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 14 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Old mans viewpoints Music Lover: from Uppsala, Uppsala SE -- November, 30, 2009

I live in Sweden, where I was born in 1942. About 1952/53 i USED to listen to Voice of America, Willis ConoverĀ“s "Jazz Hour" and some nice swedish jazz programs on the radio. In "Jazz Hour" I was fascinated by the starting song; Take the A train - exact the recording appearing on this CD. Part of the Liberian Suite was the start in the swedish jazz program. I came to admire both of the recordings and I still like them.

The Mooche and other songs appearing on this CD are also some of my Ellington favourites. Not the least just in these recordings!

I still play my old vinyl EP:s and LP:s to catch the feeling, but it is nice to get it more convenient on this excellent CD. This must have been one of EllingtonĀ“s best periods, after this period I feel that his carisma started to decline.

A orchestra carreer starting about 1923, ending at DE:s death 1974. In my eyes some of the recordings on this CD, are basic in the Ellington production!

Bengt Jacobowsky, Uppsala/Sweden.

Year-End Clearance Sale

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 5,527
  • UPC: 886972468921
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)