Barbra Joan Streisand
Get email alerts for Barbra Streisand
43 ratings
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $1.01 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD
sku:  SSP 24589
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 1, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.


  • 1.Beautiful
  • 2.Love
  • 3.Where You Lead
  • 4.I Never Meant To Hurt You
  • 5.One Less Bell To Answer / A House Is Not A Home
  • 6.Space Captain
  • 7.Since I Fell For You
  • 8.Mother
  • 9.The Summer Knows
  • 10.I Mean To Shine
  • 11.You've Got A Friend

Product Description:

Personnel: Barbra Streisand (vocals); Dick Hazard (conductor); Hugh McCracken (acoustic & electric guitar); John Uribe, Louie Shelton, Mike Deasy, Eric Weissberg (guitar); Gene Cipriano (clarinet, oboe); Bobby Keyes, Jim Price (horns); Richard Perry (piano, pipe organ, percussion, tambourine); Nick DeCaro, Larry Muhoberac, Mike Rubini, Lincoln Mayorga (piano); Billy Preston, Donald Fagen (organ); Joe Osborn, Larry Knechtel (bass); Jim Gordon, Hal Blaine, Jim Keltner (drums); Clydie King, Venetta Fields, Oma Drake, Shirley Mathews (background vocals).
Fanny: June Millington (acoustic & electric guitar, background vocals); Nickey Barclay (piano, background vocals); Jean Millington (bass, background vocals); Alice de Buhr (drums, percussion, background vocals).
The follow-up to STONEY END took the intrepid singer further into mainstream pop territory. The great songwriters of the past, such as Jerome Kern and the Gershwins, are conspicuously absent, and standing in their place are Carole King and John Lennon, representatives of a new generation. Despite, however, the presence of songs like the mildly R&B-flavored "Where You Lead" and the Donald Fagen-Walter Becker composition "I Mean To Shine," Streisand still has one foot, even if partially, planted on old-fashioned ground.
"I Never Meant To Hurt You" is a torch song with piano and orchestra, but it was written by Laura Nyro, not by Harold Arlen. Her most daring choices of material on this album are "Love" and "Mother," both from John Lennon's austere PLASTIC ONO BAND album. "Love" is nicely filled out with Gene Cipriano's clarinet and oboe, providing counterpoint to the delicate vocal line. "Mother," featuring Billy Preston on the organ, finishes with Streisand belting out soaring, gospel-like figures in place of Lennon's primal screams. Other highlights include soulful versions of Buddy Johnson's "Since I Fell For You" and Carole King's "You've Got A Friend."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 43 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Barbra Rocks Music Lover: from Worcester, MA US -- April, 26, 2008

i got this cd mainly for the song one less bell to answer/a house is not a home.

oh my god dont you just love her!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 45,746
  • UPC: 886972458922
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)