You Had It Coming
Get email alerts for Jeff Beck
146 ratings
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 5 copies left
sku:  SSP 24258
Brand New
Related products:
Jeff Beck: Flash for $5.97
Jeff Beck: Jeff for $5.97

CD Details

  • Released: March 1, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 2/15/01, p.75
3 out of 5 stars - "...Working in the comfortable techno-funk rock vein he's been tinkering with for the last few years, Beck is as agile and muscular a craftsman as he's ever been..."
Entertainment Weekly - 2/9/01, p.78
"...Techno is still very much on his mind...but this forward-thinking veteran now sounds comfortable melding his adventurous fret work with studio wizardry..." - Rating: B+
Q - 5/01, p.102
3 stars out of 5 - "...Finds him digging even deeper into the harsh techno terrain that livened up parts of 1999's comeback album, WHO ELSE!....There's life in the old dog yet."
CMJ - 2/26/01, p.27
"...Beeck's hippest album since 1976's groundbreaking WIRED..."
Mojo (Publisher) - 3/01, pp.102-3
"...The most visceral, spunky-stinky instrumental album Jeff Back has ever made....this is peerless playing ability made over into pools of bodily fluids."


  • 1.Earthquake
  • 2.Roy's Toy
  • 3.Dirty Mind
  • 4.Rollin' And Tumblin'
  • 5.Nadia
  • 6.Loose Cannon
  • 7.Rosebud
  • 8.Left Hook
  • 9.Blackbird
  • 10.Suspension

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Jeff Beck (guitar); Imogean Heap (vocals); Jennifer Batten (guitar); Randy Hope-Taylor (bass); Steve Alexander (drums); Aiden Love (programming).
"Dirty Mind" won the 2002 Grammy Award for Best Rock Instrumental Performance.
As with WHO ELSE, Jeff Beck's previous album, YOU HAD IT COMING finds the venerable axeman coaxing wildly imaginative squalls of noise over a rhythm section constructed from samples and tape loops, mostly with a techno beat (although the concluding "Suspension" is so laid back it's practically a ballad). There's a nod to his blues roots with a nicely fractured version of Muddy Waters' "Rollin' and Tumblin'," but most of the rest of the songs find him performing in a vaguely modal framework.
Beck's dilemma has always been finding musicians capable of keeping up with him, largely because there really aren't any. He hasn't really solved that problem here, but it's nonetheless entertaining to hear him tread water.
Presidents' Day Weekend Sales Event

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 20,890
  • UPC: 886972425825
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)