Billy Joel Complete Hits Collection 1973-97 [Slipcase]

Complete Hits Collection 1973-97 [Slipcase]
Get email alerts for Billy Joel
91 ratings
Sale: $45.88
WINTER SALE: $42.51 Limited Time Only
List Price: $50.98
You Save: $8.47 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 4 copies left
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  32F5V
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: May 30, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: Sony

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 12/12/97, p.84
"Joel's three hit collections, plus a bonus, fans-only disc with live cuts and highlights of his anecdotal, often amusing college lectures..." - Rating: B
Q - 1/02, p.118
4 out of 5 stars - "...piano-playing and melodic style...[with] eclectic musical influences and lyrical diversity...confirm he's much more than just a romantic balladeer..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Piano Man
  • 2.Captain Jack
  • 3.The Entertainer
  • 4.Say Goodbye To Hollywood
  • 5.New York State Of Mind
  • 6.The Stranger
  • 7.Scenes From An Italian Restaurant
  • 8.Just The Way You Are
  • 9.Movin' Out (Anthony's Song)
  • 10.Only The Good Die Young
  • 11.She's Always A Woman

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.My Life
  • 2.Big Shot
  • 3.You May Be Right
  • 4.It's Still Rock And Roll To Me
  • 5.Don't Ask Me Why
  • 6.She's Got A Way
  • 7.Pressure
  • 8.Allentown
  • 9.Goodnight Saigon
  • 10.Tell Her About It
  • 11.Uptown Girl
  • 12.The Longest Time
  • 13.You're Only Human (Second Wind)
  • 14.The Night Is Still Young

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Keeping The Faith
  • 2.An Innocent Man
  • 3.A Matter Of Trust
  • 4.Baby Grand
  • 5.This Is The Time
  • 6.Leningrad
  • 7.We Didn't Start The Fire
  • 8.I Go To Extremes
  • 9.And So It Goes
  • 10.The Downeaster 'Alexa'
  • 11.Shameless
  • 12.All About Soul (Remix)
  • 13.Lullabye (Goodnight, My Angel)
  • 14.The River Of Dreams
  • 15.To Make You Feel My Love
  • 16.Hey Girl
  • 17.Light As The Breeze

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Billy Joel Spoken Intro/ Music Concepts
  • 2.Scenes From An Italian Restaurant (Live Unreleased Version)
  • 3.Beatles Influence
  • 4.Hard Days Night (Live Unreleased Version)
  • 5.Why Vienna?
  • 6.Vienna (Live Unreleased Version)
  • 7.History Through Music
  • 8.We Didn't Start The Fire (Live Unreleased Version)
  • 9.Music Source
  • 10.The River Of Dreams (Unreleased Original Studio Recording)
  • 11.Piano Bar
  • 12.Piano Man (Live Unreleased Version)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Billy Joel (vocals, guitar, harmonica, accordion, piano, Fender Rhodes, Hammond B-3 organ, melodica, keyboards); T-Bone Wolk (vocals, bass); Ray Charles (vocals, piano); Crystal Taliefero (vocals, percussion); Larry Carlton, Hiram Bullock, Steve Kahn, David Brown, Danny Kortchmar, Dann Huff (guitar); Paul Franklin (pedal steel guitar); Richie Cannata (flute, clarinet, saxophone, organ); Clint Black (harmonica); Mark Rivera (alto & tenor saxophones, synthesizer, percussion); Phil Woods (alto saxophone); Richard Tee, Matt Rollings (piano); Wilton Felder, Neil Stubenhaus, Will Lee (bass); Willie Weeks, Sean Pelton, Liberty DeVitto, Ron Tutt, Zachary Alford (drums); Peter Cetera, Trisha Yearwood, Color Me Badd (background vocals).
Producers include: Billy Joel, Phil Ramone, Mick Jones, Danny Kortchmar, Peter Asher.
Includes liner notes by Timothy White.
Personnel: Billy Joel (vocals, harmonica, accordion, melodica, piano, Fender Rhodes piano, harpsichord, Clavinet, keyboards, synthesizer, Moog synthesizer, percussion, background vocals); Tommy Byrnes (vocals, guitar); Ray Charles (vocals, piano); Crystal Taliefero (vocals, percussion, background vocals); Wrecia Ford, B. David Witworth (vocals, background vocals); Color Me Badd, T-Bone Wolk (vocals); Steve Khan (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, electric 12-string guitar); Dann Huff, Danny Kortchmar, Mike Tyler, Dean Parks, Don Evans, Philip Nowlam, Joey Hunting, William Bennett , John McCurry, Larry Carlton, Bob Mann (guitar); Howie Emerson, Russell Javors (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Hugh McCracken, James Herb Smith , Mac McAnally, Steve Burgh (acoustic guitar); Hiram Bullock (electric guitar); Tom Whitehorse (banjo); World Famous Incognito Violinist (fiddle); Richie Cannata (flute, clarinet, saxophone, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone, organ); Clint Black (harmonica); Dominic Cortese (accordion); Everette Harp (saxophone); Mark Rivera (alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, synthesizer, percussion, background vocals); David Matthews, Phil Woods (alto saxophone); Michael Brecker (tenor saxophone); Ronnie Cuber (baritone saxophone); John Gatchell, Joe Shepley (trumpet); Jim Horn (horns, alto horn); Paul Litterall, Charles Rose (horns); Steve Lindsey (alto horn); Matt Rollings, Richard Tee (piano); Steve Nathan (organ); David Rosenthal, Michael Omartian, Randy Waldman, Robbie Kondor (keyboards); Jeff Jacobs (synthesizer, programming); Dave Lebolt, Jeff Bova (synthesizer); Bill Zampino, Anton Fig, Ron Tutt, Willie Weeks, Zachary Alford, Liberty DeVitto, Vinnie Colaiuta (drums); Jimmy Bralower, Mingo Lewis, Neil Jason, Andy Kravitz, Ralph MacDonald (percussion); Sammy Merendino (electronic percussion); John Mahoney, Kevin Jones (keyboard programming); Doug Kleeger (sound effects); Chris Rodriguez, Donna McElroy, Donnie Dacus, Frank Simms, Jackie Gouch‚, Hicksville High School Chorus, Ian Lloyd, Patty d'Arcy, Chuck Arnold, Joe Lynn Turner, Alex Brown, Peter Cetera, Pete Hewlett, Trisha Yearwood, Kim Fleming, Bob Bailey, Yvonne Hodges, Doug Stegmeyer, Frank Floyd, George Simms (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Jay Healy; Joe Nicolo; Michael Brauer; Peter Asher; Phil Nicolo; Tom Lord-Alge; Bill Schnee; Bruce Botnick.
Audio Remixers: Elliot Scheiner; Gary Tole ; Jim Boyer ; Phil Nicolo; Phil Ramone; Brian Ruggles.
Liner Note Author: Timothy White .
Recording information: Andora, Capitol and Conway Recording Studio, Los Angele (06/??/1980/12/31/1993); Columbia University (06/??/1980/12/31/1993); Halt, Frankfurt, Germany (06/??/1980/12/31/1993); Harvard University (06/??/1980/12/31/1993); Hofstra University (06/??/1980/12/31/1993); Nassau Coliseum (06/??/1980/12/31/1993); Paradise Club, Boston, MA (06/??/1980/12/31/1993); Princeton University, Princeton, NJ (06/??/1980/12/31/1993); Right Track Studio, New York, NY (06/??/1980/12/31/1993); Sony Studios, New York, NY (06/??/1980/12/31/1993).
Photographers: Dan Borris; Len Irish.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Bill Zampino; Jon Faddis; Anton Fig; William Bennett.
Arranger: Patrick Williams.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 118,657
  • UPC: 074646800720
  • Shipping Weight: 0.86/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)