Suzanne Vega Retrospective: The Best of Suzanne Vega [UK Bonus CD] (Limited) (2-CD)

Mojo (Publisher): 3 stars out of 5 - "[T]he 10 videos included in this retrospective show a refreshing angle on the female gaze....[T]his is an imaginative mix."
Get email alerts for Suzanne Vega
4 ratings
MASSIVE CD SALE: $15.40 Limited Time Only
List Price: $15.99
You Save: $0.59 (4% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  35583
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: July 7, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Universal Uk

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - p.121
3 stars out of 5 - "[T]he 10 videos included in this retrospective show a refreshing angle on the female gaze....[T]his is an imaginative mix."


  • 1.Luka
  • 2.Tom's Diner (Ft DNA)
  • 3.Marlene on the Wall
  • 4.Caramel
  • 5.99.9 F
  • 6.Tired of Sleeping
  • 7.Small Blue Thing
  • 8.Blood Makes Noise
  • 9.Left of Center
  • 10.(I'll Never Be) Your Maggie May
  • 11.In Liverpool
  • 12.Gypsy
  • 13.Book of Dreams
  • 14.No Cheap Thrills
  • 15.Calypso
  • 16.World Before Columbus
  • 17.Solitude Standing
  • 18.Penitent
  • 19.Rosemary
  • 20.Queen & The Soldier (Live)
  • 21.Woman on the Tier (I'll See You Through)
  • 22.Caramel (Live)
  • 23.Widow's Walk (Live)
  • 24.Solitude Standing (Live)
  • 25.Blood Makes Noise (Live)
  • 26.Liverpool (Intro / Narrative)
  • 27.In Liverpool
  • 28.Anniversary (Demo)
  • 29.Tom's Diner (Orignal Version)

Product Description:

"The Queen And The Soldier" was recorded live at The Paleo Festival, Nyon, Switzerland, 1991.
Personnel: Suzanne Vega (vocals, acoustic guitar); Gerry Leonard (acoustic & electric guitars, dulcimer, mandolin, zither); Tchad Blake (electric guitar, E-bow); Marc Schulman, Frank Christian, Richard Pleasance (electric guitar); Jane Scarpantoni (cello); Cecilia Sparacio (flute); Don Byron (clarinet, bass clarinet); John Linnell (accordion); Dave Douglas (trumpet); Rupert Hine (piano, keyboards, synthesizer, bass, programming); Anton Sanko (Hammond B-3 organ, synthesizert); Mitchell Froom (keyboards); Michael Visceglia, Frank Gravis, Bruce Thomas, Paul Dugan (bass); Pete Thomas (drums, percussion, loops); Stephen Ferrera, Jerry Marotta (drums, percussion); Shawn Colvin (background vocals).
Producers include: Steve Addabbo, Lenny Kaye, Mitchell Froom, Anton Sanko, Suzanne Vega.
Compilation producers: Mike Ragogna, Suzanne Vega.
Recorded between 1985 & 2001. Includes liner notes by Lenny Kaye.
This collection from the esoteric singer/songwriter features not only hits like "Luka," "Tom's Diner," "(I'll Never Be) Your Maggie May," No Cheap Thrills," and "Gypsy," but it also includes five live cuts and a demo version of "Anniversary."
Personnel: Suzanne Vega (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, background vocals); Jon Gordon (guitar, electric guitar); Steve Addabbo (guitar, background vocals); Billy Masters (guitar); Gerry Leonard (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, dulcimer, mandolin, zither); Marc Shulman (electric guitar, electric 12-string guitar); Richard Pleasance, David Hidalgo, Frank Christian, Steve Donnelly, Tchad Blake (electric guitar); Jane Scarpantoni (cello); Rupert Hine (strings, piano, keyboards, drum programming); Cecilia Sparacio (flute); John Linnell (accordion); Don Byron (clarinet, bass clarinet); Dave Douglas (trumpet); Joe Jackson (piano); Mitchell Froom (keyboards); Anton Sanko, C.P. Roth (synthesizer); Pete Thomas , Steve Ferrera, Jerry Marotta, Sue Evans (drums, percussion); Dougie Yowells, Frank Vilardi, Jay Bellerose (drums); Michael Blair (cymbals, tambourine); Nick Pugh (drum programming); Shawn Colvin (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Hugh Padgham; Jay Burnett; Shelly Yakus; Stephen W. Tayler; Tchad Blake.
Audio Remixer: DNA .
Liner Note Author: Lenny Kaye.
Recording information: Bearsville Sound Studios (??/??/1987-05/09/2003); Luther's Blues, Madison, WI (??/??/1987-05/09/2003); Nola Studios, New York, NY (??/??/1987-05/09/2003); Paleo Festival, Nyon, Switzerland (??/??/1987-05/09/2003).
Photographers: Melanie Nissen; Matthew Vega; Catherine Lazure; Marion Ettlinger; Faubel Christensen; Paula Bullwinkel; Geof Kern; Albert Sanchez.
Arranger: Rupert Hine.
When Suzanne Vega emerged in the mid-1980s, she heralded the arrival of a new kind of troubadour, one who merged the contemplative singer/songwriter tradition of Joni Mitchell, Neil Young, et al, with a decidedly modernistic outlook influenced by the likes of Lou Reed, David Byrne, and Laurie Anderson. Consequently, she had a huge impact on what singer/songwriters sounded like from then on. Listening to the comprehensive anthology RETROSPECTIVE, it's easy to see why. The artful minimalism of such early songs as "Small Blue Thing" and "Tom's Diner" (the latter subsequently remixed into a huge dance hit) is just as striking decades down the line. And the sophisticated popcraft of later recordings (including those produced by Vega's then-husband Mitchell Froom) melds everything from bossa nova to industrial synth-pop with Vega's arty folk-rock. This compilation is arranged to flow musically rather than chronologically, allowing one to experience the full range of moods present in the work of this compelling and complex songstress.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 90,976
  • UPC: 602498088845
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)