Michael Schenker Built to Destroy

Built to Destroy
Get email alerts for Michael Schenker
6 ratings
PRESIDENTS' DAY SALE: $11.12 Limited Time Only
List Price: $12.99
You Save: $1.87 (14% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
16 copies available
sku:  32FVQ
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 9, 2009
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: EMI Import

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.95
4 stars out of 5 -- "'Rock My Nights Away' kicks off in typically upbeat fashion, 'I'm Gonna Make You Mine' is a rousing singalong, and 'Systems Failing' an urgent Cold War rocker."


  • 1.Rock My Nights Away
  • 2.I'm Gonna Make You Mine
  • 3.The Dogs Of War
  • 4.Systems Failing
  • 5.Captain Nemo
  • 6.Still Love That Little Devil
  • 7.Red Sky
  • 8.Time Waits (For No One)
  • 9.Rock Will Never Die (Walk The Stage)
  • 10.I'm Gonna Make You Mine
  • 11.Time Waits, The (For No One)
  • 12.Systems Failing
  • 13.Rock Will Never Die (Walk The Stage)
  • 14.Red Sky
  • 15.Rock My Nights Away
  • 16.Captain Nemo
  • 17.The Dogs Of War
  • 18.Still Love That Little Devil

Product Description:

Michael Schenker Group: Michael Schenker (guitar); Gary Barden (vocals); Andy Nye (keyboards); Chris Glen (bass); Ted McKenna (drums).
Additional personnel: Derek St. Holmes (vocals).
Personnel: Michael Schenker (guitar); Gary Barden (vocals); Andy Nye (keyboards); Ted McKenna (drums).
Audio Mixer: R.G. Jones.
Audio Remasterer: Pete Mew.
Liner Note Author: Dave Ling.
Recording information: Ridge Farm Studios, Dorking; Townhouse Studios.
Built to Destroy was not much different than MSG's previous effort, Assault Attack, except that Gary Barden replaced Graham Bonnet on lead vocals. Michael Schenker's steady musicianship usually lifted his sometimes mediocre solo efforts into at least the listenable range. But other than "Rock My Nights Away" and the instrumental "Nemo," most of the songs on this album sound like standard '80s fare: upbeat, keyboard-laced pop-metal songs with inspirationally banal lyrics that would fit nicely on a movie soundtrack. The U.K. version on BGO Records and the U.S. one on Chrysalis are supposed to have alternate mixes, but the difference is imperceptible. The easier-to-find American release has a shuffled song order. Built to Destroy, while average, was still much better than UFO albums from the same period, proving that Schenker was really the guiding force behind his former band. Nonetheless, this release is for fans of the genre or Schenker completists only. ~ Brian Downing

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 5099969655623
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)