Peace in the Valley (3-CD)

Q: 3 stars out of 5 - "...Includes some classic performances - 'Crying In The Chapel' and '(There'll Be) Peace In The Valley (For Me)'..."
Peace in the Valley (3-CD)
Get email alerts for Elvis Presley
222 ratings
Price: $16.20
List Price: $17.99
You Save: $1.79 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  6576Q
on most orders of $60+
Brand New
Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: September 12, 2000
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: BMG / Elvis

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 12/00, pp.148,151
3 stars out of 5 - "...Includes some classic performances - 'Crying In The Chapel' and '(There'll Be) Peace In The Valley (For Me)'..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.His Hand In Mine
  • 2.I'm Gonna Walk Dem Golden Stairs
  • 3.In My Father's House
  • 4.Milky White Way
  • 5.Known Only To Him
  • 6.I Believe In The Man In The Sky
  • 7.Joshua Fit The Battle
  • 8.He Knows Just What I Need
  • 9.Swing Down, Sweet Chariot
  • 10.Mansion Over The Hilltop
  • 11.If We Never Met Again
  • 12.Working On The Building
  • 13.Crying In The Chapel
  • 14.How Great Thou Art
  • 15.In The Garden
  • 16.Somebody Bigger Than You And I
  • 17.Farther Along
  • 18.Stand By Me
  • 19.Without Him
  • 20.So High
  • 21.Where Could I Go But To The Lord
  • 22.By And By
  • 23.If The Lord Wasn't Walking By My Side
  • 24.Run On
  • 25.Where No One Stands Alone
  • 26.We Call On Him
  • 27.You'll Never Walk Alone
  • 28.Who Am I?
  • 29.Life

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Only Believe
  • 2.He Touched Me
  • 3.I've Got Confidence
  • 4.Amazing Grace
  • 5.Seeing Is Believing
  • 6.He Is My Everything
  • 7.Bosom Of Abraham
  • 8.An Evening Prayer
  • 9.Lead Me, Guide Me
  • 10.There Is No God But God
  • 11.A Thing Called Love
  • 12.I, John
  • 13.Reach Out To Jesus
  • 14.Miracle Of The Rosary
  • 15.Put Your Hand In The Hand
  • 16.I Got A Feelin' In My Body
  • 17.Help Me
  • 18.If That Isn't Love
  • 19.Help Me (Live Version)
  • 20.Why Me Lord (Live Version)
  • 21.How Great Thou Art (Live Version)
  • 22.Farther Along
  • 23.Oh Happy Day
  • 24.I, John
  • 25.Bosom Of Abraham
  • 26.You Better Run
  • 27.Lead Me, Guide Me
  • 28.Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus / Nearer My God To Me

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.When The Saints Go Marchin' In
  • 2.Just A Little Talk With Jesus
  • 3.Jesus Walked That Lonesome Valley
  • 4.I Shall Not Be Moved
  • 5.(There'll Be) Peace In The Valley
  • 6.Down By The Riverside
  • 7.Farther Along
  • 8.Blessed Jesus (Hold My Hand)
  • 9.On The Jericho Road
  • 10.I Just Can't Make It Myself
  • 11.I Hear A Sweet Voice Calling
  • 12.When The Saints Go Marchin' In
  • 13.Softly And Tenderly
  • 14.(There'll Be) Peace In The Valley (For Me)
  • 15.It Is No Secret (What God Can Do)
  • 16.I Believe
  • 17.Take My Hand, Precious Lord
  • 18.I Asked The Lord
  • 19.He
  • 20.Oh How I Love Jesus
  • 21.Show Me Thy Ways, O Lord
  • 22.Hide Thou Me
  • 23.Down By The Riverside / When The Saints Go Marchin' In
  • 24.Sing You Children
  • 25.Swing Down, Sweet Chariot
  • 26.Let Us Pray
  • 27.Gospel Medley: Sometimes I Feel Like A Motherless Child / Where Could I Go But To The Lord / Up Above My Head / Saved
  • 28.The Lord's Prayer
  • 29.How Great Thou Art (Live Version)
  • 30.(There'll Be) Peace In The Valley (For Me)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Elvis Presley, Carl Perkins, Jerry Lee Lewis, Johnny Cash, The Jordanaires, The Imperials, The Nashville Edition, J.D. Sumner & The Stamps, The Sweet Inspirations, Kathy Westmoreland, Sherrill Neilsen.
Compilation producers: Ernst Mikael Jorgensen, Roger Semon.
Recorded between 1956 & 1977. Includes liner notes by Cheryl Thurber.
Digitally remastered by Dennis Ferrante & Lene Reidel.
Elvis Presley was and is an American icon, a figure whose impact on the pop music world cannot be overestimated. Before he became a legend, Presley was just a singer, albeit one who got the goods by synthesizing the music of his youth: blues, country music, mainstream pop (Dean Martin was an early favorite of his) and gospel. Southern gospel is a intensely rhythmic devotional music, and that obviously left a powerful impression on the young Elvis (he often sang gospel tunes to warm-up for recording session and concerts).
This box set exclusively collects the gospel songs, old and (then) new, Presley recorded throughout his career, including the "Million Dollar Quartet" session (Elvis, Jerry Lee Lewis, Carl Perkins and Johnny Cash). This collection is wildly varied: the relaxed, party-like informality of the Quartet session (it was not originally intended for release) and the glossy orchestrated pop of "Only Believe" seem to be poles apart, yet the common ground is the conviction Presley brings to these performances. Other high points: the almost Baroque choral touches on a gently loping take of Johnny Cash's "A Thing Called Love," the spare, haunting "I Asked the Lord," and the near-operatic wail of "Reach Out to Jesus."

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 1,570
  • UPC: 078636799124
  • Shipping Weight: 0.30/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)