Big Star Nobody Can Dance

Nobody Can Dance
Get email alerts for Big Star
9 ratings
WINTER SALE: $12.57 Limited Time Only
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $3.41 (21% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 3 copies left
sku:  ZNOR 265
Brand New
Related products:
Big Star Live for $10.78
Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Released: March 15, 1999
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Norton

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - 12/99, p.126
"...Tracks from the RADIO ONE album dominate, with live and studio takes....The clincher, though, is the cover of T.Rex's 'Baby Strange' which opens the live set..."


  • 1.Don't Lie To Me
  • 2.Back Of A Car
  • 3.O My Soul
  • 4.Mod Lang
  • 5.She's A Mover
  • 6.September Gurls
  • 7.In The Street
  • 8.You Get What You Deserve
  • 9.Baby Strange
  • 10.Mod Lang
  • 11.You Get What You Deserve
  • 12.The Letter
  • 13.September Gurls
  • 14.Way Out West
  • 15.O My Soul

Product Description:

Big Star: Alex Chilton (vocals, guitar); John Lightman (vocals, bass); Jody Stephens (vocals, drums).
Engineers include: Kenny Smith.
Studio rehearsal tracks recorded at Ultra-Sonic Studios, Hempstead, New York in March 1974. Live tracks recorded at the Overton Park Shell, Memphis, Tennessee in May 1974.
Personnel: Alex Chilton (vocals, guitar); John Lightman (vocals, bass guitar); Jody Stephens (vocals, drums).
Recording information: Memphis, TN (03/1974-05/1974); Overton Park Shell, Memphis, TN (03/1974-05/1974); Ultra-sonic Studios, Hempstead, NY (03/1974-05/1974).
NOBODY CAN DANCE is an accidentally discovered batch of previously unreleased Big Star performances that are the equivalent of a power pop Rosetta Stone. Recorded in 1974, DANCE is split between rehearsals at a Hempstead, New York studio and a live benefit at a park bandshell in Memphis. This incarnation of Big Star was a trio comprised of founding members Alex Chilton and Jody Stephens along with bass player John Lightman, making his first appearance on an officially sanctioned release. Among the highlights of the studio segment is the white-boy soul of Chilton's "O My Soul" and rockers such as "Don't Lie To Me" and "In The Street."
The live segment of DANCE features Big Star playing to a handful of people during a radio station benefit. Although songs such as "September Gurls" and "Mod Lang" are repeated, the band's casual approach makes for a different feel this time out. Big Star's garage-band approach worked especially well on covers of T.Rex's "Baby Strange" and "The Letter," a pop classic originally done by Chilton's former group The Boxtops.
Year-End Clearance Sale

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 69,100
  • UPC: 731253026522
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)