Mississippi Fred McDowell Amazing Grace/My Home Is in the Delta (2-CD)

Get email alerts for Mississippi Fred McDowell
Price: $19.90
List Price: $20.99
You Save: $1.09 (5% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-4 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  6JRE7
Brand New
Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: March 11, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Floating World

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Jesus Is on the Main Line
  • 2.When I Lay My Burden Down
  • 3.I'm So Glad (I Got Good Religion)
  • 4.Going Over the Hill
  • 5.I Know I've Been Converted
  • 6.Just a Little More Faith
  • 7.Back Back Train
  • 8.You Got to Move
  • 9.Jesus Gonna Make Up My Dying Bed
  • 10.Amazing Grace
  • 11.Keep Your Lamp Trimmed and Burning
  • 12.Tell the Angels
  • 13.When You Come Out of the Wilderness
  • 14.The Lord Will Make a Way
  • 15.It's a Blessing
  • 16.This Little Light of Mine

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Waiting for My Baby
  • 2.I'm in Jail Again
  • 3.The Girl I'm Loving
  • 4.Going Down South / Carry My Whip
  • 5.Diving Duck Blues
  • 6.The Sun Rose This Morning
  • 7.Six White Horses
  • 8.Down on Dankin's Farm
  • 9.Get Right Church
  • 10.Amazing Grace
  • 11.Jesus Gonna Make Up My Dying Bed
  • 12.Where Could I Go (But to the Lord)?
  • 13.The Lord Will Make a Way
  • 14.Keep Your Lamp Trimmed and Burning
  • 15.When the Saints Go Marching In
  • 16.Big Road Blues
  • 17.When I Lay My Burden Down

Product Description:

Personnel: Mississippi Fred McDowell (vocals, guitar); Grace Bowden, Fannie Davis, James Collins, Annie Mae McDowell (vocals).
Recording information: Chicago, IL (02/06/1966); Chicago, IL (11/24/1963).
Delta blues legend Fred McDowell was one of the most celebrated of the early-'60s folk-blues movement. His spare albums perfectly captured the traditions, storytelling, and beautiful anguish of the Southern blues. This compilation combines 1966's Amazing Grace and My Home Is in the Delta from two years prior. Amazing Grace finds McDowell accompanied by the Hunter's Chapel Singers gospel choir running through 16 traditional spiritual numbers, while My Home Is in the Delta sees him going it alone, slide guitar and a booming voice shouting the blues through 17 tracks of hard times and heaviness such as "I'm in Jail Again" and "Jesus Gonna Make Up My Dying Bed." ~ Fred Thomas

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 128,939
  • UPC: 805772618725
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)