Bob Marley Songs of Freedom (4-CD)

Entertainment Weekly: "...a satisfying overview of one of music's greatest careers." - Rating: A
Get email alerts for Bob Marley
130 ratings
Price: $55
List Price: $59.98
You Save: $4.98 (8% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
item number:  32HQR
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: November 16, 1999
  • Originally Released: 1995
  • Label: Island

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 10/2/92, p.58
"...the entire first disc amply displays the Wailer's early ska and rock-steady fire....there are tons of fascinating obscurities and previously unreleased cuts...a collector's wet dream..." - Rating: B+
Entertainment Weekly - 11/26/99, p.99
"...a satisfying overview of one of music's greatest careers." - Rating: A
Q - 11/92, p.131
5 Stars - Indispensable - "...virtually every song is shot through with an ever-dawning sense of freedom.....his music is all a matter of spirit and that spirit was simply larger and more generous than any other contemporary musician....This set is an almost overwhelming celebration of the richness and abundance of Marley's career..."
Dirty Linen - Dec./Jan. 92/93, p.53
"...even if you already own all of the Wailers' Island recordings on CD as well as various vinyl 'bootlegs' of earlier Wailers material (such as the BIRTH OF A LEGEND albums), there is still more than enough fresh material to make this a worthwhile purchase..."
Melody Maker - 10/10/92, p.39
"...a treasure chest of melodic militancy almost unimaginable in these censorphobic times..."
Musician - 1/93, p.88
"...Whether you seek the bedrock of Ras Bob's formidable legacy or new insights into his stylistic inventions, SONGS OF FREEDOM paints a full-length portrait that casts a gigantic shadow..."
Village Voice (3/2/93, p.5) - Ranked #1 in the Village Voice's list of the 10 Best Reissues Of 1992.
Stereo Review (2/93, p.120) - "...includes just about everything he did worth hearing....It's well remastered, too, and the accompanying booklet conveys the essence of the man and his accomplishments far more succinctly than any current biography..."
NME (Magazine) - 12/18/99, p.28
9 out of 10 - "...profiles the whole of Marley's musical life....It shows how [he] married fierce, brave insurrectionary lyrical statements with some of the most poignant and lovely melodies on pure and sweet and powerful as the day he sung it."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Judge Not
  • 2.One Cup Of Coffee
  • 3.Simmer Down
  • 4.I'm Still Waiting
  • 5.One Love/ People Get Ready
  • 6.Put It On
  • 7.Bus Dem Shut
  • 8.Mellow Mood
  • 9.Bend Down Low
  • 10.Hypocrite
  • 11.Stir It Up
  • 12.Nice Time
  • 13.Thank You Lord
  • 14.Hammer
  • 15.Caution
  • 16.Back Out
  • 17.Soul Shake Down Party
  • 18.Do It Twice
  • 19.Soul Rebel
  • 20.Sun Is Shining
  • 21.Don't Rock The Boat
  • 22.Small Axe
  • 23.Duppy Conqueror
  • 24.Mr. Brown

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Screw Face
  • 2.Lick Samba
  • 3.Trenchtown Rock
  • 4.Craven Choke Puppy
  • 5.Guava Jelly
  • 6.Acoustic Medley
  • 7.I'm Hurting Inside
  • 8.High Tide Or Low Tide
  • 9.Slave Driver
  • 10.No More Trouble
  • 11.Concrete Jungle
  • 12.Get Up, Stand Up
  • 13.Rastaman Chant
  • 14.Burnin' And Lootin'
  • 15.Iron Lion Zion
  • 16.Lively Up Yourself
  • 17.Natty Dread
  • 18.I Shot The Sheriff

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.No Woman No Cry
  • 2.Who The Cap Fit
  • 3.Jah Live
  • 4.Crazy Baldhead
  • 5.War
  • 6.Johnny Was
  • 7.Rat Race
  • 8.Jammin'
  • 9.Waiting In Vain
  • 10.Exodus
  • 11.Natural Mystic
  • 12.Three Little Birds
  • 13.Running Away
  • 14.Keep On Moving
  • 15.Easy Skanking
  • 16.Is This Love
  • 17.Smile Jamaica
  • 18.Time Will Tell

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Africa Unite
  • 2.Survival
  • 3.One Drop
  • 4.One Dub
  • 5.Zimbabwe
  • 6.So Much Trouble In The World
  • 7.Ride Natty Ride
  • 8.Babylon System
  • 9.Coming In From The Cold
  • 10.Real Situation
  • 11.Bad Card
  • 12.Could You Be Loved
  • 13.Forever Loving Jah
  • 14.Rastaman Live Up
  • 15.Give Thanks And Praises
  • 16.One Love / People Get Ready
  • 17.Why Should I
  • 18.Redemption Song

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Bob Marley (vocals, guitar); Aston Barrett (guitar, bass); Earl "Chinna" Smith (guitar); Dean Fraser, Tommy McCook (saxophone); Rita Marley, Peter Tosh, Judy Mowatt, Marcia Griffiths (background vocals).
Producers include: Leslie Kong, Clement Dodd, The Wailers, Johnny Nash, Lee "Scratch" Perry.
Engineers include: Lee Perry, Carlton Lee, Alex Sadkin.
Includes liner notes by Rob Partridge, Rita Marley, Derrick Morgan, John "Rabbit" Bundrick and Timothy White.

Similar Products


Product Info

  • UPC: 731451443220
  • Shipping Weight: 0.53/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)